CLAIRMONT MANOR HOMEOWNERS' ASSOCIATION, INC. P.O. BOX 371, CULPEPER, VA 22701 WWW.CLAIRMONTMANOR.COM -A Covenant Community-2017 Annual Meeting Minutes

3/21/2016, 7:00 P.M. – 8:05 P.M. Germanna Community College, Daniel Technology Center

The meeting was called to order at 7:05 P.M. and was chaired by Fred Ayers. In attendance were Officers Fred Ayers; Director Veronica LaRoche and Director Dencil Johnson. Director Joyce Almquist was not present. Members: Jack Inskeep, Matthew LaRoche, Mike Heard, Roger Morton, Mark Almquist , Les Carpenter, Megan & Robert Furlong, Ian & Beti Turner and Jim Underhill. There were 11 voting parties present, not constituting a quorum of the members (38 is a quorum). The meeting proceeded with the understanding that it lacked quorum and that any matters voted on would also be mailed to non-attending members to secure quorum vote.

An Agenda, a copy of the 2016 Finances and a copy of the 2017 Budget were presented to each attending member. A copy of each is attached hereto. These minutes are recorded in order of the Agenda.

<u>Present 2016 Accounting:</u> After members reviewed the 2016 Accounting, there were a couple questions tabled to be answered by the Treasurer who was not present. The Bad Debt listed for 2016 was the write-off of unpaid dues on the Durbin property – 19103 Edgehill Place. This property was sold on the courthouse steps in May 2016 with CMHOA being unable to collect past fees. There is currently 1 resident who is 90+ days late on their dues. All other residents are current.

<u>Present Approved 2017 Budget:</u> Members reviewed the 2017 Budget. The proposed budget was created by the Treasurer based on the previous years' actual expenses.

Present 2017 ACC Status:

ACC members Roger Morton and Mike Heard were present. Alan Meyers has resigned. Discussion followed on a replacement for Mr. Meyers. Joyce Almquist may be interested in the position. However, the board is still seeking a volunteer. Roger informed the attendees there was only one outstanding ACC request, a proposal to install a privacy fence on the Wojtasik property (19198 Belle Clair Rd.).

Elect Board of Directors:

Due to the lack of a quorum at this meeting, we proceeded with nominations and voting for the Board of Directors with the understanding that a mail-in-ballot will be required for members not in attendance. Members present at the meeting who are not currently serving were asked if they were willing to serve on the Board. Fred Ayers volunteered to continue serving as President and be a Board of Director member. The following members were nominated; the nominations were seconded and carried with no opposing votes. The nominees are willing to serve as Directors for 2017: Dencil Johnson, Fred Ayers and Joyce Almquist. Officers for 2017 are Fred Ayers (President), Ray Bowman (Treasurer) and Veronica LaRoche (Secretary).

These individuals will serve as acting Directors until the required votes are secured. A mail-in-ballot will be sent to all members not in attendance at the meeting.

Open Discussion:

Attendees discussed ongoing concerns over excessive driving speed in the neighborhood.

The fence along the front of the development is in need of repair & paint. Veronica LaRoche will seek quotes for this. Jack Inskeep may have a contact as well.

The wooden street sign in the island at the entrance is in need of repair. Resident Ian Tuner has volunteered to repair & paint the sign.

Mowing of the common area near the entrance was discussed. EJ Mills will be providing a quote for mowing the low lying areas along Clair Manor as well as the open lot next to 19370 Clair Manor Drive.

Storage sheds were also discussed and the procedure for presenting to the ACC for review/approval was explained. It was mentioned that structures

larger than 150 square feet must be anchored and the home owner is responsible to ensure they are not placed over/near utilities.

Adjourn Meeting:

There being no further business before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 8:05 PM.

Should you have any questions, please contact Veronica LaRoche, Secretary at (540)270-9453 or veronica.laroche@gmail.com. The general email address for the Board is clairmonthoa@gmail.com