CLAIRMONT MANOR HOMEOWNERS' ASSOCIATION, INC. P.O. BOX 371, CULPEPER, VA 22701 WWW.CLAIRMONTMANOR.COM -A Covenant Community2018 Annual Meeting Minutes

3/13/2018, 7:10 P.M. – 7:55 P.M. Culpeper County Library, Culpeper VA

The meeting was called to order at 7:10 P.M. and was chaired by Fred Ayers. In attendance were Officers Fred Ayers; Directors Ray Bowman, Joyce Almquist and Veronica LaRoche. Director Dencil Johnson was not present. Members: Robert & Megan Fulong, Joe Matusic, Jeff Ditmer, Bob McMichael, Beti & Ian Turner, Matthew LaRoche, Mike Heard and Jim Underhill. There were 11 voting parties present, not constituting a quorum of the members (38 is a quorum).

All parties in attendance were introduced.

An Agenda, a copy of the 2017 Finances and a copy of the 2018 Budget were presented to each attending member. A copy of each is attached hereto. These minutes are recorded in order of the Agenda.

Present 2017 Accounting: After members reviewed the 2017 Accounting, Treasurer, Ray Bowman, opened the floor for questions. He did state there are currently a few residents who are delinquent on their dues with none exceeding 2 years. All other residents are current. An inquiry was made regarding what is done with the cash on hand and the response was that funds are only held in an account – no revenue generated.

Present Approved 2018 Budget: Members reviewed the 2018 Budget. The proposed budget was created by the Treasurer based on the previous years' actual expenses. The internet charge is for a GoDaddy account that keeps our website active. A mention was made about using funds to bring our covenants up to date. 2018 budget was unanimously approved.

Present ACC Status:

ACC members Joe Matusic and Mike Heard were present. Roger Morton was not present. There are no ACC items open at the time of the meeting. A question was raised about the shutter and roof color needing to match. The ACC advised a request to change any color should be submitted for review.

Elect Board of Directors:

Due to the lack of a quorum at this meeting, we proceeded with nominations and voting for the Board of Directors with the understanding that ballots would be mailed to non-attending members to secure quorum vote. Members present at the meeting who are not currently serving were asked if they were willing to serve on the Board. Fred Ayers volunteered to continue serving as President and be a Board of Director member. The following members were nominated; the nominations were seconded and carried with no opposing votes. The nominees are willing to serve as Directors for 2018: Dencil Johnson, Fred Ayers and Joyce Almquist. Officers for 2018 are Fred Ayers (President), Ray Bowman (Treasurer) and Veronica LaRoche (Secretary).

These individuals will serve as acting Directors until the required votes are secured. A mail-in-ballot will be sent to all members not in attendance at the meeting.

Open Discussion:

Attendees discussed ongoing concerns over excessive driving speed in the neighborhood.

The wooden street sign in the island at the entrance is in need of repair. Resident Ian Tuner has volunteered to repair & paint the sign.

There was a lengthy discussion about the trees along the streets. Unfortunately, due to the lack of care by the developer when planting, many trees have not thrived. There was a Landscape Committee at one time that provided input regarding the trees but it has not carried on. There were several specific types of trees used but it would be hard to match those trees today.

Resident Beti Turner plans to combine the covenants and amendments/agreements using a scanner with Optical Character Recognition (OCR).

Adjourn Meeting:

There being no further business before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 7:55 PM.

Should you have any questions, please contact Veronica LaRoche, Secretary at (540)270-9453 or veronica.laroche@gmail.com. The general email address for the Board is clairmonthoa@gmail.com.