# CLAIRMONT MANOR HOMEOWNERS' ASSOCIATION, INC. P.O. BOX 371, CULPEPER, VA 22701 WWW.CLAIRMONTMANOR.COM -A Covenant Community2019 Annual Meeting Minutes

3/19/2019, 7:09 P.M. – 7:50 P.M. Pepper's Grill, Culpeper VA

The meeting was called to order at 7:09 P.M. and was chaired by Fred Ayers. In attendance were Officers Fred Ayers; Directors Joyce Almquist and Veronica LaRoche. Director Dencil Johnson & Treasurer Ray Bowman were not present. Members: Joe Matusic, Bob McMichael, Beti & Ian Turner, Mike Heard, Jim Underhill, Stan Holleman, Jackie King, David Dunwoody, David & Stacey March, Donald Meek, Jack Inskeep and Les & Donna Carpenter. There were 14 voting parties present, not constituting a quorum of the members (38 is a quorum).

All parties in attendance were introduced.

An Agenda, a copy of the 2018 Finances and a copy of the 2019 Budget were presented to each attending member. A copy of each is attached hereto. These minutes are recorded in order of the Agenda.

<u>Present 2018 Accounting</u>: After members reviewed the 2018 Accounting, the floor was opened for questions. All residents are current on dues.

<u>Present Approved 2019 Budget</u>: Members reviewed the 2019 Budget. The proposed budget was created by the Treasurer based on the previous years' actual expenses. The 2019 budget was unanimously approved.

### **Present ACC Status:**

ACC members Joe Matusic and Mike Heard were present. Roger Morton was not present. There are no ACC items open at the time of the meeting.

### **Elect Board of Directors:**

Due to the lack of a quorum at this meeting, we proceeded with nominations and voting for the Board of Directors with the understanding that ballots would be mailed to non-attending members to secure quorum vote. Members present at the meeting who are not currently serving were asked if they were willing to serve on the Board. Fred Avers announced his resignation as President and Board of Director member. Joe Matusic volunteered to serve as President of the Board of Directors. A motion was made by Mr. Underhill, seconded by Mr. Inskeep. The following members were nominated; the nominations were seconded and carried with no opposing votes. The nominees are willing to serve as Directors for 2019: Dencil Johnson, Joe Matusic and Joyce Almquist. Officers for 2019 are Joe Matusic (President), Ray Bowman (Treasurer) and Veronica LaRoche (Secretary). These individuals will serve as acting Directors until the required votes are secured. A mail-in-ballot will be sent to all members not in attendance at the meeting.

Because of Mr. Matusic moving into the position of President of the Board of Directors, the floor was opened for a volunteer to replace Mr. Matusic on the ACC. Mr. David March is willing to serve and he was unanimously approved by all present.

# **Open Discussion:**

Attendees discussed ongoing concerns over excessive driving speed in the neighborhood. Please remind your household and visitors of the speed limit of 25 MPH.

The wooden street sign in the island at the entrance is in need of repair. Resident Ian Tuner has volunteered to repair & paint the sign. Mr. Stan Hollerman & Ms. Jackie King offered to assist.

Concern was raised regarding the overgrowth along the fence line of the Manor House as it impedes the line of sight in some areas.

Mention was made of the early morning (0430) recycling pick up by County Waste. Mr. Ayres will contact them to inquire about the recent time change. There is concern of loose trash in the neighborhood because of having to place containers street-side overnight.

Resident Beti Turner has combined the covenants and amendments/agreements using a scanner with Optical Character Recognition (OCR). A version will be posted on the CMHOA website for resident reference.

Changes or improvements to your property that are addressed by the covenants should be presented to the ACC for review. This insures approvals are documented for current and future residents.

Resident Mr. Turner took drone footage of the neighborhood after snowfall. This video may be linked on the CMHOA website in the near future.

## **Adjourn Meeting:**

There being no further business before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 7:55 PM. The move to close was recommended by Mr. Meek and seconded by Mr. Underhill.

Should you have any questions, please contact Veronica LaRoche, Secretary at (540)270-9453 or <a href="mailto:veronica.laroche@gmail.com">veronica.laroche@gmail.com</a>. The general email address for the Board is <a href="mailto:clairmonthoa@gmail.com">clairmonthoa@gmail.com</a>.