
THROW IN PROCEDURE 
 
TCSRO was asked to review the Throw-In Rule.  
 
Specifically, what do we do when the player twists and turns and puts  
a spin on the ball during a throw as shown here: https://youtu.be/N6fEJo1oLwA 
 
Despite being such a basic event and basic rule, this rule is often misunderstood and frequently 
complained about—particularly when the thrower can throw the ball 30+ yards into the penalty 
area.   
 
As always, fellow TCSRO members, where do we start with any review? We start with the rules! 
 
The Throw-In Rule 
 
NFHS Rule 15-1-2: 
 

The ball shall be thrown in any direction from the point where it crossed the touchline by 
a player who is facing the field of play and has both feet on the ground on or behind the 
touchline. The thrower shall use both hands (un-less a physical impairment would limit 
use to one hand) and shall deliver the ball from behind and over the head in one 
continuous movement. 

 
Okay, so to break down these two sentences the thrower must: 
 

(1) face the field of play;  
(2) have both feet on the ground; and  
(3) using both hands throw the ball from behind and over the head in a continuous 

movement from the point where the ball went out.  
 
(We have the same throw-in requirements as IFAB Law 15.1.) 
 
“From behind and over the Head”  
 
We are most interested in the third prong: using both hands “from behind and over the head.”  
 

• Looking at this rule, does it say anything about “spin?” No. 
 

• Does the rule say the throw must be exactly evenly above the thrower’s head? No.  
 

• Does the rule say anything about the throwing twisting his/her trunk during the throw? 
No. 

 
If it is not in the rule, then is there anything illegal about putting spin on the ball, deviating from 
a precise movement, or twisting the trunk? No!  
 

https://youtu.be/N6fEJo1oLwA
https://www.theifab.com/laws/latest/the-throw-in/


 
In these examples, the throws are legal: 
 

Throw In 1: https://youtu.be/N6fEJo1oLwA 
 
Throw In 2: https://youtu.be/4LabcLpQT90 
 
Throw In 3: https://youtu.be/4ly8KqxXlM4 

 
In these examples, the throws are not legal: 
 

Throw In 4: https://youtu.be/TUEa9utdcGE (ball does not get behind thrower’s head) 
 
Throw In 5: https://youtu.be/Yy-6tPn0-BY (ball does not get behind thrower’s head) 

 
Comparing the legal and illegal throws there the legal throws get the ball behind the head. The 
thrower brings the ball from behind the head and over the top of the head. Both hands are 
holding the ball. In general, referee should give the thrower latitude in the execution of the 
throw-in procedure. 
 
While Throw Ins 1, 2, and 3 are delivered 30+ yards with spin on the ball, they are legal throws.   
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