

March 1, 2018

The Honourable Bill Morneau Minister of Finance House of Commons Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, K1A 0A6

Dear Minister,

We are writing to you on behalf of the Ontario Association of Consultants, Counsellors, Psychometrists and Psychotherapists; representing over 2,400 mental health professionals across the province.

As Ontario's largest mental health association of its kind, we are pleased to see the investments in mental health that have been committed to by the federal government in the 2018 budget. These include:

- \$248.6 million in mental health funding for survivors and families of Indigenous peoples effected by residential schools;
- \$11 billion in new spending for mental health services over ten years; and,
- \$11 million over five years to mental health support for at risk youth.

While this spending is crucial to the advancement of mental health services, the accessibility of these services remain a significant barrier for Canadians all across the country.

That is why we are disappointed that this budget did not address the December 2017 Senate Finance Committee Report's eleventh recommendation; that mental health counselling and psychotherapy services be exempt from the Goods and Services Tax (GST) and federal portion of the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST).

A petition was launched on February 21, 2018 calling on the federal government to eliminate this financial barrier to accessing mental health services and has already been signed by over 3,000 Canadians.

Ontario Association of Consultants, Counsellors, Psychometrists and Psychotherapists

Suite 410 586 Eglinton Ave. E. Toronto, ON M4P 1P2

Telephone: 416-298-7333

Facsimile: 416-298-9503

Toll Free: 1-888-622-2779

E-mail: oaccpp@oaccpp.ca

Website: www.oaccpp.ca We remain hopeful that the federal government will continue to do great work in improving mental health services for Canadians; while also reducing the financial barriers associated with these services.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of OACCPP,

Suzanne Tassé, RP (Cert) OACCPP President, OACCPP Suzanne Dennison, DCS., RP (Cert)OACCPP Chair Public Policy & President – Elect OACCPP