

## Hound Dog Pound 204 SCRATCHING'S

September 17, 2023

### **OPENING BY RITUAL:**

Growl called to order by Sir Pound Keeper PDD Paul Gunther at 0800 hours

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited, followed by prayer by Dog Trainer PDD Leonard Stielper.

Dogs in Attendance: 23

#### **ROLL CALL OF OFFICERS:**

PDD Paul Gunther	P
PDD Pat Sharkey	P
PDD Howard Koontz	A
PDD Joe Wright	P
PDD Ray Sturm	P
PDD Leonard Stielper	P
PDD Woody Bowman	P
DD Norman Huffman	P
DD Burt Helmka	P
PDD Stuart Blair	P
DD Kevin McDermott	P
DD Billy Wagner	P
DD Glen Tabler	P
DD Danny Baker	P
DD Wayne Miller	P
	PDD Pat Sharkey PDD Howard Koontz PDD Joe Wright PDD Ray Sturm PDD Leonard Stielper PDD Woody Bowman DD Norman Huffman DD Burt Helmka PDD Stuart Blair DD Kevin McDermott DD Billy Wagner DD Glen Tabler DD Danny Baker

- PDD Burt Helmka graced us with his presence (late) and received an outstanding round of ovations!
- Uniform infractions were fined.

Sir Pound Keeper PDD Paul Gunther announced guests in attendance:

Honorary Jr Vice Chief Devil Dog – PDD Joe DeAngelo

Honorable Executive Director - PDD Ben Wells

**Honorable Deputy Executive Director** – PDD Ray Sturm

Honorable Deputy Lucky Dog – PDD Robert E Lee

Honorable Deputy Staff Veterinarian – PDD Paul Gunther

Honorable Deputy Dog Trainer - PDD Leonard Stielper

Honorable Deputy Mad Dog - PDD Tony Rust

Worthy Pack Leader - PDD Tony Rust

Worthy Sr Vice Pack Leader – PDD Pat Sharkey

Worthy Jr Vice Pack Leader – PDD Omar Jabr

Worthy Pack Dog Trainer - PDD Leonard Stielper

Worthy Pack Dog Robber - DD Burt Helmka

Worthy Pack Barking Dog – PDD Stuart Blair

Past Pack of Maryland Pack Leaders – PDD Stuart Blair (2019), PDD Ray Sturm (2020-2021)

**Kennel Pack Dog Robber of the Year** – PDD Paul Taylor

**Kennel Pound Dog Robber of the Year** – PDD Paul Taylor (2010)



### Hound Dog Pound 204 SCRATCHING'S

September 17, 2023

**Pack of Maryland Dogs of the Year** –PDD Paul Taylor (2002), PDD Ray Sturm (2016), PDD Paul Gunther (2018), PDD Ben Wells (2019)

**Pound 204 Dogs of the Year** – PDD Paul Taylor (2002), PDD Ray Sturm (2013), PDD Ben Wells (2014), PDD Joe Wright (2015), PDD Harry Hierstetter (2019) PDD Pat Sharkey (2020), PDD Stuart Blair (2021)

**Scratchings:** Were distributed via email.

#### OFFICERS REPORT

**Pound Keeper:** No report.

**Sick and in Destress** – PDD Don Elseroad passed away 9/13/23, PDD Don Benson is recovering from Surgery, PDD James Brady is recovering from a heart attack and surgery.

• DD Kevin McDermott has relinquished the honor of being the Mascott Handler to Pup Mike Jadoo.

### **Old Business** – None

New Business – Motion was made to move the Growls to Saturdays to possibly bring in new Dogs. The motion was seconded and tabled until the next Growl so that all Dogs are aware of the motion. All Dogs are encouraged to attend the next Growl and discuss their views of moving the Growls from Sunday to Saturday.

**Pound Officer Nominations and Installation** – The following Pound Officers were sworn in by Jr Vice Chief Devil Dog Joe DeAngelo:

Pound Keeper – PDD Pat Sharkey Sr Vice Pound Keeper – PDD Robert Lee Jr Vice Pound Keeper – PDD Wayne Miller Pound Smart Dog – PDD Ray Sturm Pound Dog Trainer – PDD Leonard Stielper Pound Mad Dog – PDD Woody Bowman Pound Police Dog – DD Norman Huffman Pound Watch Dog – PDD Burt Helmka Pound Barking Dog – PDD Stuart Blair

**GOOD OF THE ORDER:** PDD Blair donated a machette to be actioned off. \$100 was raised from the auction.



# Hound Dog Pound 204 SCRATCHING'S

September 17, 2023

**ANNOUNCEMENTS:** Next Growl will be December 10, 2023.

**CLOSING CEREMONIES:** Sir Pound Keeper PDD Pat Sharkey closed the meeting IAW MODD

rituals.

Respectfully submitted, PDD Joseph Wright, Dog Robber Military Order of the Devil Dogs, Hound Dog Pound 204