Message From Cherry Brown, MCDP Chair 2024

My fellow McCormick County Democrats. Today on March 9, 2024 at our County Convention we witnessed democracy at work; cohesion, respect, order, the allowing of individuals to share ideas and express opinions without attacks for those who may or may not have disagreed. Let me say thank you for continuing to put enough trust in me to reelect me for one additional year, 2024, as your Chairperson of the McCormick County Democratic Party. To honor your support of me, I vow to always present myself with integrity and the leadership needed to represent such a wonderful, engaged, caring, and passionate group of individuals and this County Democratic Party.

Now, allow me to introduce your new MCDP slate of officers: Alonzo Harrison, 1st Vice Chair, Paula Goldman 2nd Vice Chair and Justin Blair, 3rd Vice Chair. During this 2024 County Convention, the following individuals were elected to represent each precinct, and will be a part of the County Officers Executive Committee. Our new Executive Committee members are Henry Banks, Mt. Carmel, Linda Jennings, Plum Branch, Kim Guy, Monticello, Markisha Blair, Willington, Marion Farina, Savannah, and Fletcher Pierce, McCormick #2/American Legion. All are elected for 1 year only, through 2025 year. It is my hope that this executive committee will seek out additional individuals to fill vacant positions from the precincts listed: McCormick #1, Bethany, Parksville, Modoc, and Clarks Hill. If you are aware of someone who might be interested in getting more involved with the party, please have them contact me or provide me with their name and contact information.

As we came closer to the end of our election part for the McCormick County Democratic Convention, we elected our county delegates to serve on the state level on May18, 2024 in Columbia, SC. As such, the following are our 2024 county delegates to represent at the SC State Democratic Party Convention: Alonzo Harrison, Paula Goldman and myself, Cherry Brown. Our Alternates are Byron Thompson, Mary Thompson, and Justin Blair.

We ended our election with a final vote for an Executive Committee Woman to replace Roseanne Napier Riddick, who passed away in February. Valerie Yarborough Jones was elected as our next Executive Committee Woman. The existing Executive Committee elected last year continue to serve in their positions, Executive Committeeman, Alonzo Harrison, Alternate Committeeman, Marvin Decker, and Alternate Committee Woman, Mamie Banks.

The business/informational part of the convention began with us hearing from each candidate running for local and state office. They shared who they are, why they are submitting themselves for office and what their positions are on issues. Candidates who presented on Saturday at the convention were:

Erniko Brown, Commissioner for Agriculture; Gwen Chiles, Clerk of Court and Register of Deeds; Dr. Jumelle Brooks, SC House District #12; Joy Bell, County Council, District #1, Donald Moss, County Council, District #1, Faye Puckett, County Coroner, and Mayor Roy Smith, Mayor, Town of McCormick. Candidates not in attendance who were unable to attend but who will be on the ballot are Chairperson Charles Jennings, County Council District #4 and Bryon Best, Congressional District #3.

It is the intent of the Executive County Officers to seek out other potentially qualified candidates to consider running for the following offices: Sheriff, District #3 County Council, and McCormick School Board. One individual who attended and expressed an interest in running for the School Board is LaToya Wilkerson. McCormick County School Board is a non-partisan position.

The McCormick County opening date for intent to file for candidacy and pay filing fees is Saturday, March 16 at Noon and closes March 30, at Noon.

There is much work ahead for us prior to the November 2024 Presidential Election. The party needs every individual to step up and use whatever skill and or talents they have to help in our future endeavors.

Our next regularly scheduled monthly meeting is set for Tuesday, April 2, 2024 @ 6 PM, Wardlaw Funeral Home in McCormick.

Cherry H Brown Chairwoman McCormick County Democratic Party