



13th December 2023

The Right Honourable Rishi Sunak MP Prime Minister 10 Downing Street London SW1A 2AA

<u>Imminent designation of revised energy National Policy Statements (NPSs) by the Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero</u>

We are writing to express our concern over recent very significant changes to the National Policy Statements on Energy (NPS EN-1 to EN-5), presented to Parliament on 22nd November, that were never consulted on, but which broaden the remit of these NPSs now to include all renewable forms of energy. Because of the importance of these changes to many more people and institutions we are requesting a full re-consultation.

There have been two rounds of consultation on the original 2011 NPSs for Energy, one in 2021 and the other in March 2023. The March 2023 version included a new general presumption in favour of granting consent (EN-1 at 4.1.3) to <u>all</u> renewable energy NSIPs and created a new general outweighing category of Critical National Priority (CNP) (EN-1 at 3.3.59&60) which then applied only to offshore wind infrastructure NSIPs. The consultation allowed respondents only 'Yes', 'No' or 'Not sure' answers to specific questions about the CNP offshore wind proposal (but not to the general 'presumption in favour', which was not even mentioned in the Key Policy Changes document accompanying the consultation) but it is clear that written responses from interested parties lobbied for further changes that appear in the November 2023 version and have not been consulted on. This final version retains the never-consulted 'presumption in favour' clause and extends the CNP category now to include all renewable energy sources, both off-and on-shore, including solar.

These are, in our view, very significant changes which many more members of the public, and others, would have been interested in commenting upon, but have not been given the chance.

In the normal course of events, the Energy NPSs presented to Parliament on 22nd November will be automatically adopted after 21 sitting days and will become the legislation by which all future energy NSIPs are considered. There are increasing numbers of utility scale solar projects >>50MW that are in the NSIP category, and these will be considered under the new NPS EN 'presumption in favour' and CNP category. We believe that increasing public concerns over massive local disruption, and effectively permanent changes in the local landscape brought about by these NSIPs, will be ignored.

Unless these proposals are changed, or challenged by MPs, we believe the Government has tipped the playing field so much in favour of large area renewable energy projects that, in the absence of an integrated spatial policy on renewables (and any accompanying policy on land-use, for example for growing food), developers in association with willing land-owners will apply for ever larger NSIP solar and other renewable schemes in places that are entirely inappropriate for them and the local, affected populations.

We ask you urgently to withdraw the November 2023 submission to Parliament in order to allow adequate consultation for these far-reaching proposals and a much broader range of people to comment on them.

Yours sincerely,



Professor Alex Rogers (Chair) Stop Botley West, Rannoch Lodge, OX20 1RD Please reply to: solarque23@gmail.com Michael Brown
Resident of West Oxfordshire
solarque23@gmail.com

Cc

Right Hon. Rishi Sunak MP, Prime Minister

Right Hon. Oliver Dowden CBE MP, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, and Secretary of State in the Cabinet Office;

Deputy Prime Minister

Right Hon. Victoria Prentis KC MP, Attorney General

Right Hon. Robert Courts MP, Solicitor General for England and Wales

Right Hon. Claire Coutinho MP, Secretary of State, Department for Energy Security and Net Zero

Right Hon. Graham Stuart MP, Minister of State, Department for Energy Security and Net Zero

Right Hon. Simon Hoare MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State Department for Levelling Up, Housing and

Communities

Right Hon. Liz Saville Roberts MP, Plaid Cymru Westminster Leader and Shadow PC Spokesperson (Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy)

Right Hon. Simon Lightwood MP, Shadow Minister (Transport)

Right Hon. Edward Miliband MP, Shadow Secretary of State of Climate Change and Net Zero

Right Hon. Bim Afolami FRSA MP, Chair, Renewable and Sustainable Energy APPG

Right Hon. Peter Aldous MP, Vice-Chair, Energy Costs APPG

Right Hon. Kemi Badenoch MP

Right Hon. Lord Berkeley OBE. The Built Environment Committee

Right Hon. Brendan Clarke-Smith MP

Right Hon. Damian Collins OBE MP

Right Hon. Alex Cunningham MP, Chair, Carbon Capture, Utilisation and Storage APPG

Right Hon. Gareth Davies MP

Right Hon. David Davis MP

Right Hon. Dave Doogan MP, Shadow SNP Spokesperson (Energy Security and Net Zero)

Right Hon. Ruth Edwards MP

Right Hon. Mark Fletcher MP

Right Hon. Lucy Frazer KC MP

Right Hon. James Gray MP, Environmental Audit Select Committee and Vice Chair, Climate and Security APPG

Right Hon. Matt Hancock MP

Right Hon. Sir John Hayes CBE MP, Vice Chair, Parks and Green Spaces APPG

Right Hon. Sir Oliver Heald KC MP $\,$

Right Hon. James Heappey MP

Right Hon. Gordon Henderson MP

Right Hon. Kevin Hollinrake MP

Right Hon. Stewart Hosie MP

Right Hon. Paul Howell MP, Vice-Chair, Net Zero APPG

Right Hon. John Howell OBE FSA FRGS MP, Chair, Fusion Energy APPG

Right Hon. Robert Jenrick MP

Right Hon. Dr Caroline Johnson MP

Right Hon. Alicia Kearns MP

Right Hon. Dame Andrea Leadsom DBE MP

Right Hon. Sir Edward Leigh MP

Right Hon. Layla Moran MP

Right Hon. Jessica Morden MP, Chair, Statutory Instruments Select Committee and Vice Chair, Energy Security APPG

Right Hon. Dame Priti Patel MP, Vice Chair, East of England APPG

Right Hon. Stephanie Peacock MP

Right Hon. Dr Dan Poulter MP, Energy Security and Net Zero Select Committee and Treasurer, East of England APPG

Right Hon. Will Quince MP

Right Hon. Greg Smith MP, Chair, Farming APPG

Right Hon. Helen Whately MP

Right Hon. Sir Jeremy Wright KC MP