

Minutes of the November 2, 2022 meeting of the NORTHEAST OHIO FIRST SUBURBS CONSORTIUM Bedford City Hall

In Attendance:

Ken Montlack, FSC Joe Duffy, City of Maple Heights Mike Mallis, City of Bedford Patrick Lang, City of Brooklyn Mayor Stan Koci, City of Bedford Jennifer Kuzma, FSC Mary Cierebiej, County Planning Commission Patrick Hewitt, County Planning Commission Paul Marnecheck, City of Brook Park Laura Mendez Ortiz, County Planning Commission Mayor Matthew Burke, City of Garfield Heights Geoff Englebrecht, City of University Heights Mayor Kirsten H. Gail, City of Euclid Michael Love, City of South Euclid Coral Troxell, City of South Euclid Mary Kay Costello, City of Fairview Park Nicole Harris, City of Warrensville Heights Benjamin Brown, City of Warrensville Heights Mayor Brad Sellers. City of Warrensville Heights Raymon Turner, City of Warrensville Heights Mayor Fletcher Berger, City of Bedford Heights Darylyn Hopes, City of Bedford Heights Janice Tubbs, City of Garfield Heights Callie Cripps, City of Euclid Mayor David Weiss, City of Shaker Heights Mayor Annette Blackwell, City of Maple Heights Mayor Katie Gallagher, City of Brooklyn

Mayor Koci opened the meeting at 9:10 AM and welcomed attendees to Bedford City Hall for the final First Suburbs meeting of 2022. A few minutes were given for attendee introductions.

Mayor Koci then moved the meeting to the first order of business – approval of the August 2022 NEO-FSC meeting minutes. Mayor Koci asked those present if any corrections or edits were needed to the minutes as they were presented. Hearing no edits needed, the minutes of the August 2022 NEO-FSC meeting were then unanimously approved with a motion made by Paul Marnecheck which was seconded by Mayor Burke.

Nominating Committee Chair Ken Montlack then provided a report on 2023 leadership nominations. Ken reminded those present that the opportunity to self-nominate or nominate others was made available via email. Ken then provided the following nominations:

Chair: Mayor Stan Koci (2023 would be the 2nd year of a possible 3-year term)

Vice-Chair: Mayor Katie Gallagher

Members: Mayor Annette Blackwell, Mayor Kirsten Holzheimer Gail, Mayor Tim

DeGeeter, Mayor Mike Procuk, Mayor David Weiss

Ken asked if there were any additional nominations to be considered and none were given. Mayor Koci thanked Ken for his report and asked if there was a motion to approve the slate as presented. Mayor Burke made a motion to approve the slate and elect nominees into office. Mayor Sellers seconded that motion and all members present unanimously approved the motion. Mayor Koci thanked the membership for their support and welcomed the elected members to their 2023 leadership positions.

Jennifer presented the proposed 2023 operating budget and a recap of the 2022 financial report. After some discussion, Mayor Koci asked for a motion to approve the 2023 proposed operating budget. Paul Marnecheck made a motion to approve the proposed 2023 operating budget as presented. Mayor Blackwell seconded the motion, and all members present unanimously approved the motion.

Mayor Koci and Jennifer gave a recap of the October County Executive candidate event thanking members of their time in developing the policy recommendations and attending both the forum and the post-forum social hour.

In the First Suburbs Executive Committee Report, Mayor Koci reminded the mayors of the upcoming mayors and superintendent meeting at CSU's Levin College on December 8 organized by former First Suburbs members Mike Summers and Earl Leiken.

In her report on the First Suburbs Housing Committee, Jennifer thanked Patrick Grogan-Myers for leading the group in 2021-2022. She provided an update on the Single-Family Housing Zoning Code Initiative and discussion was held on the remaining funds in the County's Rental Assistance Program which is scheduled to close at the end of 2022. After some discussion and suggestions on how to best get the word out about the program, Jennifer will follow up with CHN and Housing Committee members to give some thought to best ways to raise awareness of this program in its last few months.

Jennifer reported that recent meetings of the First Suburbs Development Council included presentations from TeamNEO and LISC on programs First Suburbs can immediately access. Jennifer also thanked those who attended the 2022 NOACA Annual Meeting & Symposium with her back in October. The City of Brecksville is expected to become the newest member of the Northeast Ohio Advanced Energy District closing a C-PACE project before the end of the year. Jennifer thanked both Matt Madzy and Mike Love for their leadership in 2022 on the FSDC and NEO-AED boards.

In Other Business, it was reported that an announcement of awards from the County's Brownfield Match Program have been made.

Jennifer reminded members that the next quarterly meeting of the NEO-FSC has been scheduled for Wednesday, February 1 at 9 AM. Anyone interested in hosting should contact Jennifer. The meeting adjourned at 10:23 AM.