A Brief History of the Southern District National Society Sons of the American Revolution

At the organizing meeting of the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution held on April 30, 1889 at Fraunces Tavern in New York City, a Vice President General was elected from each State Society. Tennessee and Alabama were the only two current Southern District Societies represented at that meeting. At the first Congress of the NSSAR in Louisville in April 1890, the Constitution was changed to elect five at-large Vice Presidents General.

President General R. C. Ballard Thruston first proposed creating Districts for the Vice Presidents at the Syracuse Congress in May 1914. The proposal was presented as a Constitutional amendment by the Connecticut Society at the Newark Congress in May 1916, but was not acted upon until the Rochester Congress in May 1918. The Districts created by this amendment were the *New England District* (Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut), *Middle and Coast District* (New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, District of Columbia, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and Florida), *Mississippi Valley East District* (Michigan, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, West Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, Alabama, and Mississippi), *Mississippi Valley West District* (Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Texas), and the *Mountain and Pacific District* (Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Nevada, Utah, Colorado, Arizona, New Mexico, Oregon, Washington, California, Hawaii, and the Philippines).

At the Salt Lake City Congress in July 1924, the number of Districts was increased from five to seven and the Southern District was created. The Southern District was originally composed of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Tennessee, Kentucky, Mississippi, and Louisiana. At the Philadelphia Congress in June 1926, the number of districts was increased from seven to eleven and the South Atlantic District was created from the Southern District. Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, Tennessee, and Kentucky remained part of the Southern District. Kentucky became part of the Central District in 1939.

VPG Tom Jacks, 2009