Discovery United Methodist Church 2024 Nominations and Leadership Information

Discovery Mission

To make disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world.

Discovery Vision

Helping people discover more about life and faith through discovery in worship, relationships, and community.

Discovery Scripture

"You are the light of the world. A city built on a hill cannot be hid." Matthew 5:14

Discovery Prayer

"Breakthrough, O God, in our worship, our relationships, and our community, so that we may discover that you do exceedingly more than we can ask or imagine. Amen."

The General Rules of The UMC

Do No Harm, Do Good, Attend to all the Ordinances of God

Lead Pastor

The Rev. Dr. J. Adam Sowder

Appointed and sent to the church by the Virginia Conference Bishop

The Administrator of the local church

The Supervisor of the staff

Ordained with Authority over Word, Sacrament, Order, and Service

See Paragraph 340 of *The Book of Discipline*

Church Council

Helps guide and ensure the fulfillment of the Vision and Mission of the Church. This body becomes the Charge Conference as needed and in accordance with *The Book of Discipline* of the UMC.

Council Chair Lucas Reynolds (2025)

Lay Leader Chris Yousik (2024)

Chair, Staff Parish Relations Committee Sue Easterby (2025)

Chair, Finance and District Steward Carlton Brown (2024)

Church Treasurer David Conant (2024)

Chair, Trustees Ed Sterling (elected annually by trustees)

United Methodist Men President Rick Jones (elected by UMM)

United Women in Faith President Sandy Sowder (elected by UWF)

Chair, Weekday Ministries Board Sandi Dunkum

Recording Secretary Patrice Pillow (2026)

Pastor The Rev. Dr. J. Adam Sowder

Ministry and Vision Coordinator and Laity Annual Conference Representative Pai Masavisut Preschool Director Lorrie Zampetti

Additional Discovery Committees, Positions, and Descriptions

Lay Leader

Chris Yousik

Helps to embody and represent the vision to the people.

Nominations and Leadership

Helps identify nominations to the various committees and that rotations of class members are being followed. Discovery practices three-year class terms with a maximum of one renewal of term for its leaders. The exception is for the Trustees per *The Book of Discipline*.

Chair - The Rev. Dr. J. Adam Sowder
Lay Leader – Chris Yousik
Class of 2024 Frank Carter and Dave Morgan
Class of 2025 Laura Cox and Linda Kleene
Class of 2026 Brenda Bryan and Suzanne Harrison

Staff Parish Relations

Advise the Lead Pastor in the stewardship of human resources, policies, and procedures.

Advocate for the staff team for fair compensation.

This is a closed committee that practices confidentiality of the highest order.

The Lead Pastor must be present in order for this body to meet, except in the presence of the District Superintendent.

Resolutions are handled following Matthew 18:15-17 to avoid triangulation.

Anonymity of suggestion or complaint is not admissible per VAUMC guidelines. When it comes to opinions, see John Wesley's sermon "The Catholic Spirit," where he says, "Keep you your opinion; I mine . . .Let all these smaller points stand aside... If thine heart is as my heart, if thou lovest God and all mankind, I ask no more: Give me thine hand."

SPRC Staff Liaisons are not admissible per VAUMC guidelines.

Chair- Sue Easterby
Pastor - The Rev. Dr. J. Adam Sowder
Class of 2024 Chris Yousik
Class of 2025 Frank Overbey, Shauna Brown, and Sue Easterby
Class of 2026 Mike Slack

Finance

Stewards the financial resources of the vision. The Book of Discipline directs membership.

Chair- Carlton Brown
Treasurer David Conant
Church Council Chair Lucas Reynolds
Staff Parish Relations Sue Easterby
Chair Board of Trustees Ed Sterling
Lay Leader Chris Yousik
Financial Secretary Cathleen Smith
Pastor The Rev. Dr. J. Adam Sowder

Trustees

Stewards the physical resources of the vision

Class of 2024 Frank Carter and Jim Cox
Class of 2025 Tom Guillot, Todd Lorenzen, Cindy England, and Leland Reed
Class of 2026 Ed Sterling, Carlton Brown, and Russ Whitehead

Weekday Ministry Board

Helps resource and guide Discovery's preschool.

Chair- Sandy Dunkham (2026)

Preschool Director- Lorrie Zampetti
Sandy Gilam (2026)
Parent Representative- Morgan Kiku. (2026)
Teacher Representative- TBD by the Preschool Board
Lead Pastor the Rev. Dr. J. Adam Sowder