
Lesson 5

How to Win a Chess Game
Part 1: Destroying the Enemy and Counting Attackers and Defenders

Concepts:
• Destroying the Enemy Army!
• Defended and Undefended Pieces – Counting Attackers!
• Trapped Pieces!
• The special move: “Castling”!

Destroying the Enemy Army:
The surest method to win a chess game is to deprive the King of his allies. Once he's all 
alone, it's not so hard to corner him – with the obvious goal of checkmate –  with even just 
one or two of your pieces! Today we are going to learn some techniques to eliminate every 
last member of the opposing army, and hopefully maintain most of your pieces along the way!

The chessboard is a dangerous place. The white pieces are on the lookout for black pieces to 
fight with; the black pieces are on the lookout for white pieces to fight with. You now know 
how many squares the pieces can attack because you learned how all the pieces move in 
Lessons 1 and 2, so how can your pieces move about in such a dangerous place? 

The answer is that they must defend each other! When one of your pieces “attacks” its 
friend, it's really a form of protection. Any enemy who dares to capture your piece, will face 
the same fate on the next move. Let's see what your pieces can do when they start attacking!

Counting Defenders and Attackers – The Key to a Good or Bad Capture!
cuuuuuuuuC
(rdwdkdw4}
70p0bhp0p}
6wdn0w1wd}
5dwgwdwdw}
&wdwHPdwd}
3dBdwGwdw}
2P)PdNPP)}
%$wdQdRIw}
v,./9EFJMV
Look at the Knights on d4 
and c6. They are safe in  
the middle of the fighting 

because of counting!

Look to the example on the left. If the black Knight on c6 
takes the white Knight on d4, then white takes back with his 
Bishop on e3. Then the black Bishop on c5 could take on 
d4, but white's Queen on d1 will take back. If black's queen 
then takes, white's knight on e2 will take capture back. 

All these captures are equal, so this is called “trading.” If 
white takes the black Knight on c6, you'll also see that the 
black Knight is defended enough times, and white will lose 
the same pieces that black does. It's important to get good 
at counting what pieces get traded in one of those doggy-
piles, and deciding if it's a good trade for you or your 
opponent. Let's practice: Imagine the moves 1...Nxd4 2. 
Bxd4 Bxd4 3. Nxd4. What has been captured? NBnb
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Lesson 5
Taking Undefended Guys – Count Captures and Look for Undefended Pieces!
cuuuuuuuuC
(rdwdkgn4}
70p0bdp0p}
6wdn0w1wd}
5dwdwdwGw}
&wdwHPdwd}
3dwHwDwdw}
2P)PdwPP)}
%$wdQIBdR}
v,./9EFJMV

Black's turn: 
Who is undefended?

If one of your opponent's pieces is not defended, that 
means you can take the piece, and your opponent cannot 
take you back! I'm sure you'd like that deal! So, be on the 
lookout for pieces that your opponent has placed in danger.

For example, to the left, white has just gotten very excited 
and moved his bishop from c1 to g5 to go after black's 
Queen. What would an alert black player do about it? Is 
the Knight on d4 also undefended? What happens if the 
black Queen captures it? The answers are that the white 
Bishop on g5 is “hanging” (which means undefended) and 
that black can safely take on d4: 1...Qxd4 2.Qxd4 Nxd4!

Doggy-piles!!! – Counting Attackers and Defenders in Tricky Positions!
cuuuuuuuuC
(wdrqwdkd}
7dbdrdpgp}
6pdndpdpd}
5dpdwdndw}
&wdw)wdwd}
3dBHQGNdw}
2P)wdw)P)}
%dwdR$wIw}
v,./9EFJMV
The pawn on d4 must feel  
important! An awful lot of  

pieces are attacking 
and defending him!

Sometimes a piece is defended, but also attacked more 
than once. Look at the pawn on b5: two pieces are 
attacking it (Knight on c3 and Queen on d3), and only one 
piece is defending it. So even though it's defended, if white 
starts capturing, he'll win the fight... right? 1.Nxb5 axb5 
2.Qxb5 – but who won more points? Black lost two pawns 
and white lost a Knight: Black came out ahead one point!

It's very important to look at the total attackers and 
defenders and decide who would win if everyone just 
started capturing everyone. Imagine the doggy-pile that 
could happen on the white d4-pawn! Who would come out 
on top? Who would capture more pieces? Black has five 
attackers vs. four defenders, so the Black queen on d8 
should come out on top. Captured pieces would be: 
PNBQRnnbr-- which is a great trade for black!

Catching (Trapping) the Pieces Who Can't Move – Example 1:
cuuuuuuuuC
(rdb1igw4}
7dwdwdp0p}
6pdw0whwd}
5dp0wdwdw}
&wdwdPdwd}
3dBdwdwdw}
2P)Pdw)P)}
%$NGQIwdR}
v,./9EFJMV

If you attack an enemy piece, a skilled opponent will tell the 
piece to dodge away. So, it's really good to be able to spot 
pieces that can't move. If you attack a trapped piece, they 
can't scurry off! This is your chance to win some points...

Look to the left: the white bishop on b3 can barely move! 
With white pawns behind him, and black pawns closing 
infront of him, he is nearly trapped already. Do you see that 
black can close the trap on him by advancing the c5 pawn 
to c4? On the next move, black can capture him! 
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Lesson 5

Catching (Trapping) the Pieces Who Can't Move – Example 2:
cuuuuuuuuC
(4dbdw4kd}
7dp0hdp0p}
6phw0wdwd}
5dwdPdwdw}
&wdPdNdw1}
3dwHwdwdw}
2P)wdw)P)}
%$wGQ$wIw}
v,./9EFJMV
The queen on h4 can 

barely move!

In this interesting situation, the normally lightning-quick 
black Queen can only move to a few squares. There is only 
one diagonal on which she can retreat from h4: g5-f6-e7-
d8. White can lay a very nice trap in this position. White 
needs to stop the Queen from escaping along that 
diagonal, and attack her at the same time... 

The Bishop on c1 does the job with the help of the Knight 
on e4. 1.Bg5! Now the bishop is defended by the Knight, 
blocking the Queen's escape, and attacking her at the 
same time! Wow, what a terrific move! Now white will be 
able to capture that Queen on the next move..
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Lesson 5

How to Win a Chess Game
Part 2: The Special Move in Chess: Castling

Concepts:
• The “special move” in chess: Castling! 
• En Passant handout!

Castling: The Rules of Castling Kingside!
cuuuuuuuuC
(rdb1igw4}
7dw0wdp0p}
6pdn0whwd}
5dpdw0wdw}
&wdwdPdwd}
3dB)wdNdw}
2P)w)w)P)}
%$NGQIw8R}
v,./9EFJMV

A good time to use a 
secret special move!

Castling is the one move in chess where you can move  
two of your own pieces!  Because the center of the board 
is often too dangerous for the King, they designed a 
special move to get him out of the center of the board in a 
hurry. By castling, you safeguard your King and bring your 
Rook into the center of the fight at the same time.

To castle, move your King two steps towards your Rook. 
Then, you put your rook next to him, on the other side. Now 
your King can hide in the castle of pawns in front of him, 
and your Rook can join the fierce fighting in the middle of 
the board. In Algebraic Notation, castling kingside is written 
down as “0-0”.

Castling: The Rules of Castling Queenside!
cuuuuuuuuC
(rdwdidw4}
7dw0wdp0p}
6pdn0whwd}
5dpdw0wdw}
&wdwdPdwd}
3dB)PdNdw}
2P)wdw)P)}
%$w8*IwdR}
v,./9EFJMV

Two special moves to 
choose between!!

Castling towards the Rook closer to the King is “kingside 
castling” or “castling short.” Castling towards the farther 
Rook is called “queenside castling” or “castling long”. In the 
position to the left, the white King can castle queenside OR 
kingside. If he castles queenside he will end up on c1, and 
the Rook will end up on d1 (squares marked with stars). In 
Algebraic Notation, castling queenside is written down as 
“0-0-0”.

2 IMPORTANT RESTRICTIONS
* You cannot castle if your King is in check & you cannot 
move your King through check!
* You cannot castle if your King or Rook has already 
moved!

Coaches Note: The “En Passant” handout associated with this section is a lesson all 
on its own. It can be implemented at any time, but because the concept of “En 
Passant” is more advanced, we leave it to the coach's discretion.
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Lesson 5

How to Win a Chess Game
Instructor's Guide

Students should learn the basics of capturing and defending pieces before they are truly 
ready to play (and win) a chess game. Through this lesson your students will get better 
at seeing what squares pieces are attacking, recognizing which pieces are defended, 
undefended, or unable to move, and finally how to take advantage of each situation. 
Students will also learn to “castle” (the special move by the King and Rook – and the 
only time you can move two pieces at once). 

When the instructor feels the students are ready, he/she can move onto the En Passant 
handout and worksheets. 

Key Concepts to Winning a Chess Game:
– It's good to capture enemy pieces ,and undefended or “hanging” pieces are free!
– Taking defended pieces results in “trades”.
– Pieces that can't move are “trapped” and are great targets for attack
– Castling gets your King out of the center, and your Rook into the center
– En Passant: What is En Passant and when does it apply

Practical Notes and Advice – Lesson 5:
• Help your students understand that eliminating the enemy King's “army” is the 

first step to isolating the King, and eventually achieving checkmate. 

• Review the “doggy-pile” concept carefully, ensuring that your students have 
grasped the idea of counting the number of attackers and defenders, as well as 
their point value. For example, by capturing two pawns while losing a lone 
Knight, a player might seem to “come out on top” in terms of the total number of 
chessmen captured, but it is still a bad trade (in points). Counting attackers and 
defenders is less important than counting the value of the captured pieces.

• Find moments to mention that it's great to keep an eye out for undefended 
pieces and immobile pieces (for both yourself and your opponent). This is 
something you'll want to repeat at appropriate moments in future classes, 
because it's fundamental to tactics!

• Clarify the reasons a player might want to castle (to get the King out of the 
center where the action is, and to activate the Rook); seeing practical 
applications of this will help students retain the concepts.
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Lesson 5

Lesson 5: Castling Quiz!
In each of these positions, you must answer one question: can white castle this move, “yes” 

or “no”? Circle the correct answer.

cuuuuuuuuC
(rhwdw4kd}
7dw1w0pgp}
6pdpdwhpd}
5dpdwdwdw}
&wdw)wdwd}
3)wHwdw)w}
2w)QdP)B)}
%dwdRIwHR}
v,./9EFJMV
     Yes?     Can white castle?         No?

cuuuuuuuuC
(rdwdrdkd}
70p1ngp0p}
6wdpdwdbd}
5dwdpHwdw}
&wdw)w)Pd}
3dw)wHBdP}
2P)wdKdQd}
%$wdwdwdR}
,./9EFJM

   Yes?     Can white castle?         No?

cuuuuuuuuC
(rdwdrdkd}
70bdw1p0p}
6wdw0phwd}
5dwgwdwGw}
&P0wdPdwd}
3dBdwdNdP}
2w)PdQ)Pd}
%$wdwIwdR}
,./9EFJM

   Yes?     Can white castle?         No?

cuuuuuuuuC
(rhb1w4kd}
70pdwdp0p}
6wdpdphwd}
5dwdpdwGw}
&wgw)Pdwd}
3dwHwdPdw}
2P)P!wdP)}
%$wdwIBHR}
,./9EFJM

   Yes?     Can white castle?         No?
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Lesson 5

Lesson 5: Castling Quiz!
In each of these positions, you must answer one question: can white castle this move? 

Circle the correct answer.

cuuuuuuuuC
(rdwdw4kd}
7dw1n0pgp}
6bdw0whpd}
5dw0Pdwdw}
&wdwdPdwd}
3)wHwdN)w}
2w)Qdw)B)}
%$wGwIwdR}
v,./9EFJMV
  Yes?     Can white castle?          No?

cuuuuuuuuC
(rhwdkdw4}
70p1wgp0p}
6wdpdpdbd}
5dwdwHwdw}
&wdw)w)wd}
3dwhwGwdw}
2P)P!BdP)}
%$wdwIwdR}
,./9EFJM

  Yes?     Can white castle?          No?

cuuuuuuuuC
(rdbdkdw4}
7dw1wgp0p}
6pdndpdwd}
5dwdp)wdw}
&w0wHw)wd}
3dwdnGNdw}
2P)PdQdP)}
%$wdwIwdR}
,./9EFJM

  Yes?     Can white castle?          No?

cuuuuuuuuC
(rdwdrdkd}
7dpdwdpdp}
6wdndwdpd}
50wdwdwGw}
&wdwdw)wd}
3dw)wdwdw}
2PdPdwdP)}
%$wdwIwdR}
,./9EFJM

  Yes?     Can white castle?          No?

© ChessKid.com                                                                                                     Page 7 of 14



Lesson 5

Lesson 5: Is it Defended?
In each of these positions, the black Knight is attacked. Under the position circle “yes” if it is 

also defended by one of its buddies, or circle “no” if it is not defended. 
BONUS: Circle the defending piece!

cuuuuuuuuC
(w4wdwdkd}
7dw1w0pgp}
6wdw4wdpd}
5dp0Phwdw}
&wdwdwdwd}
3)wHwdwdw}
2w)Qdw)P)}
%$wdw$BIw}
v,./9EFJMV 

Yes?  Is the Knight defended?      No?

cuuuuuuuuC
(wdwdwdkd}
7dwgwdwhp}
6wdwdwdwd}
50pdw0wdw}
&wdwdPdwd}
3dwdPdNdw}
2wdwdwIwd}
%dwdwdw$w}
,./9EFJM

Yes?  Is the Knight defended?      No?

cuuuuuuuuC
(rdwdwdwi}
74wdwdwdp}
6wdwdwdwh}
5dwgw0wdw}
&w0wdPdwd}
3dBdwdNdP}
2P)Pdw)Pd}
%dwGRdwIw}
,./9EFJM

Yes?  Is the Knight defended?    No?

cuuuuuuuuC
(rdb1w4kd}
70p0pdp0p}
6wdndwdwd}
5dwgw0wHn}
&wdBdPdwd}
3dw)Pdwdw}
2P)wdw)P)}
%$NGQIwdR}
,./9EFJM

Yes?  Is the Knight defended?     No?
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Lesson 5

Lesson 5: Doggy-Pile Quiz!
In each of these positions, white can capture on d5. If they do, there could be a doggy-pile! 

Circle “white” if you think it would be a good trade for white; circle “black” if you think it 
would be a good trade for black; Circle the “d5-square” if you think the trades are equal.

cuuuuuuuuC
(w4wdwdkd}
7dw1w0pgp}
6pdw4wdpd}
5dpdndwdw}
&wdwdwdwd}
3)wHwdw)w}
2w)Qdw)B)}
%dw$w$wIw}
v,./9EFJMV

Who gets the better “doggypile”?
White?               OR              Black?

cuuuuuuuuC
(rdwdw4kd}
7dw1ngp0p}
6wdpdpdwd}
50pdp)wdw}
&wdw)w)Pd}
3dw)wHBdP}
2P)wdwIQd}
%dwdRdwdR}
,./9EFJM
Who gets the better “doggypile”?

White?               OR              Black?

cuuuuuuuuC
(rdwdrdkd}
70wdw1p0p}
6wdpdwhwd}
5dwgb0wdw}
&P0Qdwdwd}
3dBdw)NdP}
2w)Pdw)Pd}
%$wGRdwIw}
,./9EFJM
Who gets the better “doggypile”?

White?               OR              Black?

cuuuuuuuuC
(rdb1w4kd}
7dp0wdp0p}
6wdndwhwd}
50wgp0wdw}
&wdwdPdwd}
3dB)PdNdw}
2P)wdw)P)}
%$NGQ$wIw}
,./9EFJM
Who gets the better “doggypile”?

White?               OR              Black?
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Lesson 5

Lesson 5: Who's Hanging?
In each position, black has a hanging (undefended) piece! Find and circle it! For BONUS: 

Draw a line show which white piece can capture the “hanging” piece!

cuuuuuuuuC
(rdwdwdkd}
7dw1w0pgp}
6pdw4wdpd}
5dpdwhwdw}
&wdwdwdwd}
3dQHwdw)w}
2P)wdP)B)}
%$wdwdRIw}
v,./9EFJMV

Which black piece is “hanging”?

cuuuuuuuuC
(rdwdwdkd}
7dwdwdwhw}
6wdp4wdw0}
50pdw0w0w}
&wdwdPdwd}
3dwdPIN)w}
2w)wdwdPd}
%$w$wdwdw}
,./9EFJM
Which black piece is “hanging”?

cuuuuuuuuC
(rdb1rdkd}
70pdwdp0p}
6wdpdwhnd}
5dwgp0wdw}
&wdwdPdwd}
3dBdPGNHP}
2P)Pdw)Pd}
%$wdQ$wIw}
,./9EFJM
Which black piece is “hanging”?

cuuuuuuuuC
(qdbdw4kd}
7dwdwgp0p}
6wdn0pdwd}
5dpdwdwdw}
&wdwHPdnd}
3dPHwGwdw}
2w)PdB)P)}
%$wdQdwIw}
,./9EFJM
Which black piece is “hanging”?
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Lesson 5

How to Win a Chess Game
Answer Key
Worksheet: Castling Quiz 1 and 2!:
Castling Quiz #1: Diagram #1 – No.
Castling Quiz #1: Diagram #2 – No.
Castling Quiz #1: Diagram #3 – Yes. White can castle Kingside and Queenside.
Castling Quiz #1: Diagram #4 – Yes. White can castle Queenside.
Castling Quiz #2: Diagram #1 – No. Passing through the f1-square would be check.
Castling Quiz #2: Diagram #2 – Yes. White can castle Kingside.
Castling Quiz #2: Diagram #3 – No. White is in check.
Castling Quiz #2: Diagram #4 – No. White is in check.

Worksheet: Is It Defended?:
Diagram #1 – Yes. Black Bishop on g7 should be circled.

Diagram #2 – Yes. Black King on g8 should be circled.

Diagram #3 – No.

Diagram #4 – No.

Worksheet: Doggypile!:
Diagram #1 – Circle White. Knight on c3 and Bishop on g2 are attacking.

Diagram #2 – Circle Black. Black's pawns are of “less value” and so don't offer a good trade 
return for white's Knight, Bishop and Queen.

Diagram #3 – Circle Black. Black's pawn on c6 and Bishop on d5 are of “less value” then 
white's Rook and Queen.

Diagram #4 – Circle d5-square. Trade are equal.

Worksheet: Who's Hanging?:
Diagram #1 – Black Rook on a8 is hanging. Arrow drawn from white Bishop on g2 to a8.

Diagram #2 – Black pawn on e5 is hanging. Arrow drawn from white Knight on f3 to e5.

Diagram #3 – Black Bishop on c5 is hanging. Arrow drawn from white Bishop on e3 to c5.

Diagram #4 – Black Queen on a8 is hanging. Arrow drawn from white Rook on a1 to a8.
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Lesson 5

Super Pawns: “En Passant”!
Concepts:

• What is En Passant?
• When can a player do En Passant?
• Is En Passant good or bad?

En Passant is French for “in passing”. En Passant is a special capture made by a pawn 
immediately after an enemy pawn moves two squares from its starting square. This capture is 
made as if the enemy pawn had moved only one square. This rule was put in place in the 15th 

century as an “add on” to the newly invented rule that gave pawns the option of moving two 
squares on their first move. En Passant prevents pawns from completely evading capture. 

En Passant:   The “Super” Pawn Capture Explained...  
cuuuuuuuuC
(wdwdwdwd}
7dwdwdwdw}
6wdwdwdw0}
5dwdwdw)*}
&*0wdwdwd}
3dwdwdwdw}
2Pdwdwdwd}
%dwdwdwdw}
v,./9EFJMV

En Passant is a chance
for pawns to be Super!

If a Pawn moves two squares ahead from its original 
(starting) square, and there is an enemy pawn on the 
adjacent file's 5th (for white) or 4th (for black) rank – En 
Passant is possible. To move En Passant a player must 
capture the enemy pawn as it passes (moves two squares) 
on the next turn after the move is made...

En Passant is not forced. It exists only as an “option” for a 
player to capture the “passing pawn”. If a player does not 
choose to capture En Passant immediately following their 
opponent's choice to move the pawn two squares, then 
they have lost the right to capture En Passant.

En Passant:   The Capture MUST be Made Immediately After the Opponent's Move!  
cuuuuuuuuC
(wdwdwdwd}
7dwdwdwdw}
6wdwdwdw8}
5dwdwdw)p}
&P0wdwdwd}
38wdwdwdw}
2wdwdwdwd}
%dwdwdwdw}
v,./9EFJMV
The b4-pawn can capture
En Passant, while the g5-

pawn cannot...

To display the idea of En Passant clearly, we continue from 
our first diagram. With white's a-pawn moving two squares 
ahead, directly passing black's b4-pawn, black has the 
option to capture the a4-pawn by moving 1...b4xa3 – 
capturing the a4-pawn as if it had only moved one square. 
If black wishes to capture, black must do so immediately...

On the other hand, black's h-pawn that moved from h6-h5 
is not capturable by En Passant because the h and g 
pawns  already “faced the option of capture” on g5 and 
h6 a move earlier. Because neither player chose to capture, 
En Passant is not a possibility for the g5-pawn. 
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Lesson 5

Can You Capture En Passant?
Read the caption to each diagram and circle “Yes” or “No”.

cuuuuuuuuC
(wdrdw4kd}
7dp0whwgp}
6wdw1n0pd}
50Pdw0wdw}
&wdwdwdwd}
3dNdPdNdP}
2PGPdw)Pd}
%$wdQ$wIw}
v,./9EFJMV

Black just played 1...a7-a5: 
Yes?  Can white capture En Passant?  No?

cuuuuuuuuC
(wdrdw4kd}
7dpdn1pgw}
6pdpdndpd}
5dwdwdwdp}
&wdP0wdwd}
3dQdwdw)w}
2P)wdN)B)}
%dwdRdRIw}
v,./9EFJMV

White just played 1.c2-c4: 
Yes?  Can black capture En Passant?  No?

cuuuuuuuuC
(rdw1w4kd}
70wdpdp0p}
6w0Pdwhwd}
5dwdw0wdw}
&Pdwdwdwd}
3dPdQ)wHw}
2wdwdw)P)}
%dRdRdwIw}
,./9EFJM

Black plays 1...d7-d5: 
Yes?  Can white capture En Passant?  No?

cuuuuuuuuC
(rdqdw4kd}
7dpdbdpdw}
6pdpdn)pd}
5dwdpdwdp}
&wdw)wdP!}
3dw)BdwdR}
2P)wdNdw)}
%dwdwdRIw}
v,./9EFJMV

Black just played 1...h7-h5: 
Yes?  Can white capture En Passant?    No?  
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Lesson 5

Can You Capture En Passant?
Answer Key

Worksheet Page 1:
Diagram #1 – Yes.

Diagram #2 – Yes.

Diagram #3 – No.

Diagram #4 – No.
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