Annual Membership Dues
Name
Address
City
StateZip
Telephone number
Email
\$35.00 Individual Membership
☐ \$35.00 Associate Membership
\$10.00 Student Associate Membership
☐ \$500.00 Individual Life Regular Membership
☐ \$500.00 Individual Life Associate Member
\$250.00 Corporate Annual Membership
☐ Renewal

Article 1.0 – Members and Membership

- **1.1** Regular voting members in good standing shall be anyone who is a current employee or retiree of the Oklahoma public or private educational system.
- **1.2** Associate Non-voting members shall be anyone who is a supporter of the Oklahoma public or private educational system.

Mail to:

Oklahoma African American Educators Hall of Fame, Inc. 110126 N 3830 Rd Clearview, Oklahoma 74880

Brochure printed by Phillips 66

Board of Directors:

 $Dr.\ Harold\ C.\ Aldridge\ Jr. — Tahlequah$

Dr. Gloria Anderson –Oklahoma City

Bobbie Allen Booker –Tulsa Eunice Edison - Lawton

Dr. Deena Fisher - Woodward

Dr. John Hargrave - Ada

Orlando E. Hazley - Tulsa

Henrietta Hicks - Boley

Sharon Hill-Wooten - Idabel

Albert Johnson Sr.. - Lawton

Dr. Donnie L. Nero Sr. – Clearview

Jimmie White - Warner

Officers:

President: Dr. Donnie L. Nero Sr. Vice-President: Sharon Hill-Wooten

Secretary: Shirley A. Nero Treasurer: Jimmie White

Mission: The Oklahoma African American Educators Hall of Fame, Inc will provide a means for the educational community in Oklahoma to identify, investigate, acknowledge, and celebrate the unique history of African American education; honor the outstanding careers of African American educators; secure private contributions and endowments; and obtain public and private grants and funds to promote the goals and mission of the OAAE Hall of Fame, Inc.

Oklahoma African American Educators Hall of Fame, Inc. 110126 N 3830 Rd Clearview, Oklahoma 74880 405-786-2440

OAAE Hall of Fame, Inc. website: www.oaaehof.org email: annnero@aol.com

Oklahoma African American Educators Hall of Fame (OAAEHOF)



Withhold not good from them to whom it is due, when it is in the power of thine hand to do it. Proverbs 3: 27

Dr. Donnie Nero Sr., Founder of the OAAEHOF and former President of Connors State College said, "When I realized that many of the teachers who were very instrumental in my life were passing on without the recognition of their time, dedication, and struggles; specifically during the segregation era, I knew that something had to be done to recognize these great individuals."

Annual Membership

Annual Regular Membership:

- \$35.00 per individual
- Membership shall include:
- A membership card
- Right to vote for members of the Board of Directors
- Advance notice of Hall of Fame activities
- Invitation to Hall of Fame private events
- Invitation to attend Hall of Fame Annual meeting and awards banquet
- Hall of Fame Newsletter, lapel pin, an informational tri-fold brochure of organization, and access to a membership directory.

Individual Life Regular Membership:

- A one-time fee of \$500.00
- Includes all the above

Associate Non-voting Membership:

 Associate-Non voting members shall be anyone who is a supporter of the Oklahoma public or private educational system.

Associate Non-voting Dues:

- Associate Non-voting dues shall be
- Student: \$10.00 (no pen)
- \$35.00 Associate Member
- \$500.00 Associate Life Member
- Advance notice of Hall of activities and events
- Lapel pen
- Newsletter and access to membership directory

Corporate Non-voting Dues

- \$250.00 per year
- Same as Associate Non-voting member

The purpose of The Oklahoma African American Educators Hall of Fame, Inc.

To celebrate significant contributions African Americans made to the advancement of educational opportunities in a predominately European White society. It will educate the public on the evolution of public education in Oklahoma from the period of statutorily separate school systems to desegregated schools to integrated schools. It will identify great administrators, teachers, and staff known within their respective communities; but who are often unknown statewide and therefore, not recognized in today's integrated educational community.

Many notable African American schools no longer exist. A few of the high schools produced some of Oklahoma's outstanding college presidents. In 1960, Dr. William H. Hale, a L'Ouverture High School graduate, became the 10th President of Langston (Iniversity in Langston, Oklahoma. A graduate of Boley High School, Dr. Earnest [. Holloway served as [angston University's Chief Executive for 25 years. Dr. Donnie L. Nero, a 1967 Dunjee High School graduate, became the first African American to serve as president of a predominately-white college at Connors State College in Warner, Oklahoma. In addition, other notable high schools produced presidents of colleges serving in other states.

This Hall of Fame will become a living account of the past and present and will grow as future generations contribute their legacies.



Standing Committees

Hall of Fame Nominating Committee

Henrietta Hicks, Chair

Albert Johnson Sr.

Dr. John Hargrave

Orlando Hazley

Financial Committee

Jimmie White, Chair

Orlando Hazley

Communications Committee

Dr. Gloria Anderson, Chair

Sharon Hill-Wooten, Vice-Chair

Shirley Nero

Forrest Lee

Development Committee

Dr. Deena Fisher, Chair

Orlando Hazley, Vice Chair

Anita Arnold

Hall of Fame Ceremony Committee

Bobbie Booker, Chair

Orlando Hazley, Vice-Chair

Anita Arnold

Bruce Fisher

Henrietta Hicks

Esther King

Shirley A. Nero

Jimmy White

Membership Committee

Eunice Edison, Chair

Albert Johnson, Vice-Chair

Esther King

Shirley A. Nero

Jimmie White

Website Committee

Dr. Donnie Nero, Chair

Shirley A. Nero

Bruce Fisher

Willie French

Scholarship Committee

Dr. John Hargrave, Chair

Dr. Gloria Anderson, Vice Chair

Orlando Hazley

Albert Johnson Sr.

Willard Tillman

Jimmie White

Ex-Officio Committee

President will serve on all committees