

NAB ENGINEERING ACHIEVEMENT AWARD WINNERS 1959 – 2020

2020

RADIO

Jeff Welton, Nautel Hackett's Cove, NS Canada

TELEVISION

James T. Stenberg, American Tower Corporation Portland, ME

2019

RADIO

Gary Cavell, Cavell, Mertz and Associates Manassas, VA

TELEVISION

Cindy Hutter Cavell, Cavell, Mertz and Associates Manassas, VA

2018

RADIO

Carl T. Jones, Jr., Carl T. Jones Corporation Springfield, VA

TELEVISION

Mark Aitken, Sinclair Broadcast Group, Inc. Hunt Valley, MD

SERVICE TO BROADCAST ENGINEERING

Clay Freinwald, Bustos Media Holdings, LLC Seattle, WA

2017

RADIO

John Kean, Cavell, Mertz & Associates Manassas, VA

TELEVISION

John Lyons, The Durst Organization New York, NY

2016

RADIO

Andrew Laird, Journal Broadcast Group Milwaukee, WI

TELEVISION

Richard Chernock, Triveni Digital Princeton, NJ

2015

RADIO Thomas F. King, Kintronic Labs Bristol, TN

TELEVISION

Richard Friedel, Fox Networks Engineering and Operations Los Angeles, CA

SERVICE TO BROADCAST ENGINEERING

Ray Conover, Hubbard Broadcasting St. Paul, MN

2014

RADIO

Jeff Littlejohn, Clear Channel Media and Entertainment Cincinnati, OH

TELEVISION

Robert Seidel, CBS New York, NY

2013

RADIO

Frank Foti, Telos Alliance Cleveland, OH

TELEVISION

Jay Adrick, GatesAir Mason, OH

SERVICE TO BROADCAST ENGINEERING

Leonard J. Charles, Morgan Murphy Media Madison, WI

2012

RADIO

Paul Brenner, Emmis Communications Indianapolis, IN

TELEVISION

Glenn Reitmeier, NBCUniversal New York, NY

2011

RADIO

L. Robert du Treil, du Treil, Lundin & Rackley, Inc. Sarasota, FL

TELEVISION

Thomas B. Keller, Renowned Television Technology Innovator

<u>2010</u>

RADIO

Steve Church, Telos Systems Cleveland, OH

TELEVISION

Mark Richer, ATSC Washington, DC

2009

RADIO

Jack Sellmeyer, Sellmeyer Engineering Lucas, TX

TELEVISION

Sterling Davis, Cox Broadcasting Atlanta, GA

2008

RADIO

Thomas B. Silliman, Electronics Research, Inc. Chandler, IN

TELEVISION

Antoon Uyttendaele, ABC Inc. New York, NY

2007

RADIO

Louis A. King, Kintronic Laboratories, Inc. Bristol, TN

TELEVISION

Victor Tawil, Association for Maximum Service Television Washington, DC

2006

RADIO

Benjamin Dawson, Hatfield and Dawson Seattle, WA Ronald Rackley, du Treil, Lundin and Rackley, Inc. Sarasota FL

TELEVISION

S. Merrill Weiss, Merrill Weiss Group LLC Metuchen, NJ

2005

RADIO

Milford Smith, Greater Media, Inc. East Brunswick, NJ

TELEVISION

Oded Bendov, TV Transmission Antenna Group, Inc. Cherry Hill, NJ

<u>2004</u>

RADIO

Glynn Walden, CBS Radio Philadelphia, PA

TELEVISION

Ira Goldstone, Tribune Broadcasting Los Angeles, CA

2003

RADIO

John W. Reiser, Federal Communications Commission (Retired) Mt. Vernon, VA

TELEVISION

Robert P. Eckert, Federal Communications Commission Washington, DC

2002

RADIO

Paul Schafer, Schafer International Bonita, CA

TELEVISION

Bernard Lechner, Consultant Princeton, NJ

2001

RADIO

Arno Meyer, Belar Electronics Laboratory Devon, PA

TELEVISION

Larry Thorpe, Sony Electronics, Inc. Park Ridge, NJ

2000

RADIO Michael Dorrough, Dorrough Electronics Woodland Hills, CA

TELEVISION

Max Berry, Capital Cities/ABC (retired) Elkins Park, PA

<u>1999</u>

RADIO

Geoffrey Mendenhall, P.E. Harris Corporation Quincy, IL

TELEVISION

John Turner, Turner Engineering Mountain Lakes, NJ

<u>1998</u>

RADIO

John Battison, P.E., John Battison, Consultant Loudonville, OH

TELEVISION

Robert Hopkins, Sony Pictures High Definition Center Culver City, CA

1997

RADIO

George Jacobs, George Jacobs & Associates Silver Spring, MD

TELEVISION

Michael Sherlock, NBC New York, NY

1996

RADIO

Ogden Prestholdt, A.D. Ring & Associates Nakomis, FL

TELEVISION

Charles Rhodes, Advanced Television Test Center Alexandria, VA

SERVICE TO BROADCAST ENGINEERING

Gerald Robinson, Hearst Broadcasting Milwaukee, WI

1995

RADIO

Robert Orban, Chief Engineer, AKG Acoustics, Inc. San Leandro, CA

TELEVISION

Carl G. Eilers, Manager of Electronic Systems R&D, Zenith Electronics Glenview. IL

1994

RADIO

Charles T. Morgan, Susquehanna Radio Corporation York, PA

TELEVISION

Thomas J. Vaughan, PESA Micro Communications, Inc. Manchester, NH

<u>1993</u>

RADIO

Robert M. Silliman, Silliman and Silliman Silver Spring, MD

TELEVISION

Stanley N. Baron, Technical Development, NBC New York, NY

SERVICE TO BROADCAST ENGINEERING

Herb H. Schubarth, Gannett Broadcasting Denver, CO

1992

RADIO

Edward Edison and Robert L. Hammett, Hammett & Edison San Francisco, CA

TELEVISION

James C. McKinney, Chairman, Advanced Television Systems Committee Washington, DC

1991

RADIO

George Marti, Marti Electronics Cleburne, TX

TELEVISION

Kerns Powers, David Sarnoff and NBC Consultant Princeton, NJ

1990

Hilmer Swanson, Harris Corporation, Broadcast Division Quincy, IL

1989

William Connolly, Sony Advanced Systems Montvale, NJ

1988

Jules Cohen, Jules Cohen and Associates Washington, DC

1987

Renville H. McMann, CBS Technology Center Stamford, CT

<u>1986</u>

Dr. George Brown, RCA Laboratories Princeton, NJ

<u>1985</u>

Carl E. Smith, Smith Electronics Cleveland, OH

<u>1984</u>

Otis S. Freeman, WPIX, Inc., Tribune Broadcasting New York, NY

1983

Joseph Flaherty, Technology, CBS Inc New York, NY

<u>1982</u>

Julius Barnathan, Broadcast Operations and Engineering, American Broadcasting Companies, Inc. New York, NY

1981

Wallace E. Johnson, Association for Broadcast Engineering Standards Washington, DC

1980

James D. Parker, CBS Television Network New York, NY

1979

Robert W. Flanders, McGraw Hill Broadcasting Co., Inc. Indianapolis, IN

1978

John A. Moseley, President, Moseley Associates, Inc. Goleta, CA

1977

Daniel H. Smith, Capital Cities Communications, Inc. Philadelphia, PA

1976

Dr. Frank G. Kear, Consulting Engineer Washington, DC

<u>1975</u>

John D. Silva, Golden West Broadcasters Los Angeles, CA

1974

Joseph B. Epperson, Scripps Howard Broadcasting Co. Cleveland, OH

1973

A. James Ebel, KOLN TV Lincoln, NE

1972

John M. Sherman, WCCO Minneapolis, MN

1971

Benjamin Wolfe, Post Newsweek Stations Washington, DC.

<u>1970</u>

Philip Whitney, General Manager, WINC Winchester, VA

1969

Jarrett L. Hathaway, NBC Television Network New York, NY

<u>1968</u>

Howard A. Chinn, CBS Television Network New York, NY

1967

Robert M. Morris, American Broadcasting Company New York, NY

1966

Carl J. Meyers, WGN Continental Broadcasting Co. Chicago, IL

1965

Edward W. Allen, Jr., Federal Communications Commission Washington, DC

1964

John H. DeWitt, Jr., WSM, Inc. Nashville, TN

<u>1963</u>

Dr. George R. Town, Iowa State University Ames, IA

<u>1962</u>

Ralph N. Harmon, Westinghouse Broadcasting Co. New York, NY

<u>1961</u>

Raymond F. Guy, Consultant

<u>1960</u>

Commissioner T. A. M. Craven, FCC Washington, DC

1959

John T. Wilner, Hearst Corporation Baltimore, MD