

























May 20, 2020

The Honorable Jim Inhofe, Chairman U.S. Senate Committee on Armed Services 228 Russell Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Adam Smith, Chairman U.S. House Committee on Armed Services 2216 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Jack Reed, Ranking Member U.S. Senate Committee on Armed Services 228 Russell Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mac Thornberry, Ranking Member U.S. House Committee on Armed Services 2216 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairmen Inhofe and Smith, and Ranking Members Reed and Thornberry,

The Coalition of Geospatial Organizations (COGO) is a coalition of 13 national professional societies, trade associations, and membership organizations in the geospatial field, representing more than 170,000 individual producers and users of geospatial data and technology. COGO only communicates on policy matters when there is complete unanimity among all organizations. We are writing to you to express our collective concerns about the Ligado Networks' proposal and the interference it would cause to GPS and GNSS data acquisition, processing and use. Unbiased testing has repeatedly confirmed that implementation of their proposal would surely undermine many of the uses of that data which have come to be anticipated, even essential, among the public and within the geospatial profession that provides services to it.

COGO member organizations take very seriously the role of their respective members in protecting the public's interests from harm, and have strongly <u>urged</u> the FCC to reject the Ligado Networks' proposal which will undoubtedly cause such harm. Despite the recent FCC approval of the Ligado Networks' application, we want to thank each of you for your ongoing <u>opposition</u> to and <u>oversight</u> of the Ligado Networks' proposal. COGO stands ready to work with your committees to address our shared concerns in the 2021 National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA).

Sincerely,

Jon Warren, P.L.S., Chair

Coalition of Geospatial Organizations

Cc: Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Chairman Ajit Pai

Honorable Representative Frank Pallone, Chairman, House Energy and Commerce Committee

Honorable Representative Greg Walden, Ranking Member, House Energy and Commerce Committee

Honorable Representative Peter DeFazio, Chairman, House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure

Honorable Representative Sam Graves, Ranking Member, House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure

Honorable Senator Roger Wicker, Chairman, Senate Commerce, Science & Transportation Committee

Honorable Senator Maria Cantwell, Ranking Member, Senate Commerce, Science & Transportation Committee