Bement Public Library District Board Meeting December 19, 2023

Board President Mary Postlewait called the meeting to order at 5:30 pm. Director Donna Techau and Board Trustees Bill Gallagher, Connie Kinsella, Jill Lawson, Jerry Watzlawick, Gail Wright, and Kenneth Wright were present. No one from the public attended.

Trustee Jerry Watzlawick moved to approve the consent agenda as presented. Bill Gallagher seconded the motion, and all trustees voted aye.

In old business, Director Techau presented a Community Center Facility Use Agreement created by the Lion's Club that permits the library to use the building for special events. The library will not be charged a usage fee, will be responsible for all supervision, and liable for any damage.

Jerry Watzlawick made a motion to approve the Lion's Club agreement. Gail Wright seconded the motion, and all trustees voted aye, with Ken Wright abstaining.

The wildflower and butterfly garden work will begin in the spring. Director Techau reminded the board members to complete the online trainings if they have not already done so. Staff continue to work on the inventory of the microfiche prior to donation.

Trustee Jill Lawson shared that Katie Triplett is doing a great job with the kids' activities on Saturdays. She has been present for some of them and has been very impressed.

In new business, an additional bid for the remodeling project has not been acquired. Director Techau reached out to another contractor but did not receive a visit to discuss the project.

Trustee Bill Gallagher moved to approve the bid from Design Glass and Aluminum for the remodeling project as presented. Jill Lawson seconded the motion, and all trustees voted age by a roll call vote.

The board discussed the need to create a formal director's compensation package. It is necessary to have something more concrete in order to provide clarity for the employee and for projecting future budgetary needs.

Connie Kinsella made a motion to convene a committee to develop a director compensation package. Jerry Watzlawick seconded the motion, and all trustees voted aye. The committee will hold its first meeting on January 3, 2024, at 4:30 in the library board room. Members of the committee will be Bill Gallagher, Connie Kinsella, Jill Lawson, Gail Wright, and Ken Wright.

At 6:22 pm, Jerry Watzlawick moved to adjourn the meeting. Gail Wright seconded the motion, and all trustees voted aye.

The next regular board meeting will take place on January 16, 2024 at 5:30 pm at the library.

Connie Kinsella, Board Secretary	