Fort Dodge Choral Society Scholarships Award Program, 1999 to present (last updated 7.15.23)

In order to support students pursuing careers in vocal music, a committee was formed in 1997 to develop, in consultation with the Board, a set of guidelines for awarding scholarships. Since that time, scholarships have been awarded to undergraduate college students majoring in a music field with vocal emphasis. Recipients must be undergraduates with college sophomore status by the award year. Recipients must be attending an lowa college/university or be from the Fort Dodge area attending any college or university. In 2003, a stipulation was added that a person can be awarded the scholarship a total of two times.

From FDCS History booklet

"Beginning with the 1998-99 school year, 51 scholarships have been awarded to 40 students. Currently, Scholarships are \$1000, having increased from \$500 in 2015. A total of \$27,850 have been awarded to date. Funds for scholarships area derived from money budgeted each year and from a special scholarship fund to which anyone may contribute."

Further developments in funding:

In 2019, an additional funding source for scholarships was established through the Greater Fort Dodge and United Way Community Foundation, titled The Fort Dodge Choral Society Collegiate Singers Fund. Annually, after FDCS awards a scholarship from the general budget (funds raised during the annual membership), an additional scholarship may be awarded from The Collegiate Singers Fund. After that, if needed, an additional third scholarship can be awarded from The Collegiate Singers Fund. Anyone can donate to that fund.

FDCS often receives gifts in memory of former singers; these memorial gifts are often specifically donated to fund FDCS scholarships. In several instances music performances have been organized to raise funds for FDCS scholarships.

RECIPIENTS:

Award Date	Academic Year	Name	Major	College/ University	Award Amount
(From 2018 FDCS History Booklet)	1998-99	Nicholas Bromley		Simpson Coll	\$400
		Kelly Horst		Luther Coll	\$200
(From 2018 FDCS History Booklet)	1999-00	Kevin Drew		UNI	\$350
		James Haase		Univ of Iowa	
		Justin Hill		Indian Hills CC	
(From 2018 FDCS History Booklet)	2000-01	Martin Fox		Simpson Coll	\$500
		James Haase		Univ of Iowa	
(From 2018 FDCS History Booklet)	2001-02	Martin Fox		Simpson Coll	\$600
		Nate Johnson		Cleveland Institute	
(From 2018 FDCS History Booklet)	2002-03	Angela Dencklau		Wartburg Coll	\$500
		Julia Ellerston		UNI	
		Nate Johnson		Cleveland Institute	
		Jonathon Wilke		Univ of Iowa	
(From 2018 FDCS History Booklet)	2003-04	Kelly Flynn		Luther Coll	\$500
		Susan Hoesel		Simpson Coll	
		Nate Johnson		Cleveland Institute	
		Mara Ostermeier		Wartburg Coll	
(From 2018 FDCS	2004-05	Sarah Carlson		UNI	\$500
History Booklet)		Mara Ostermeier		Wartburg Coll	

Award	Academic			College/	Page 2 of 3
Date	Year	Name	Major	University	Amount
Date		Sarah Carlson Burke		•	
(From 2018 FDCS	2005-06			UNI Dordt Univ	\$500
History Booklet)		Lisa DeVries			
	2006.07	Jenna Ziems		Luther Coll	¢500
	2006-07	Lisa DeVries Zylstra		Dordt Univ	\$500
(From 2018 FDCS		Daniel Lanveg		Northwestern Coll	
History Booklet)		Matt Tschimperle		Luther Coll	
		Taja Will		Luther Coll	1
	2007-08	Lauren Hartman		Simpson Coll	\$500
(From 2018 FDCS		Jill Phillips		Luther Coll	
History Booklet)		Matt Tschimperle		Luther Coll	
		Taja Will		Luther Coll	
(From 2018 FDCS	2008-09	Anthony DiMeglio		Drake Univ	\$500
History Booklet)		Aliese Hoesel		Simpson Coll	
Thistory Bookiety		Jill Phillips		Luther Coll	
/F 2010 FD66	2009-10	Brett Epperson		Luther Coll	\$500
(From 2018 FDCS		Lauren Hackenmiller		Simpson Coll	
History Booklet)		Janet Stone		Coe Coll	
	2010-11	Aliese Hoesel		Simpson Coll	\$500
(From 2018 FDCS		Jessica Mallow		Simpson Coll	
History Booklet)		Leah Podzimek		Wartburg Coll	
		Marie Sorenson		Wartburg Coll	
(From 2018 FDCS	2011-12	Sara Draffen		UNI	\$500
History Booklet)		Christopher Ellerston		Central Coll	,
(From 2018 FDCS History Booklet)	2012-13	Jessica Ann Faselt		Univ of Iowa	\$500
(From 2018 FDCS	2013-14	Sophia Huang		Luther Coll	\$500
History Booklet)	2010 1 .	Callie Jo Whitefield		Wartburg Coll	7555
(From 2018 FDCS History Booklet)	2014-15	None awarded			
(From 2018 FDCS	2015-16	MacKenzie Walsh		Wartburg Coll	\$1000
History Booklet)		N . I . C . I		6: 0 !!	41000
(From 2018 FDCS	2016-17	Natalie Gordon		Simpson Coll	\$1000
History Booklet)		Mollie Lawler		Drake Univ	4
(From 2018 FDCS	2017-18	Hillary Erb		St. Ambrose Univ	\$1000
History Booklet)		Sarah Ganey		Drake Univ	
		Michael Richardson		Buena Vista Univ	
May 2018	2018-19	Riley Anderson	Music Ed	Wartburg Coll	\$1000
Chair: Dee		Matthew Shuka	Music Ed	Northwestern Coll	
Dunsdon					
May 2019	2019-20	Levi Capesius	Mus Ed &	Wartburg Coll	\$1000
Chair: Dee			Vocal Perf		
Dunsdon		Evelyn Ames	Vocal Perf	Luther Coll	
		Schwartz Galstad			
		Norah (Benjamin)	Vocal Perf	Univ of Iowa	
		Wolfe			

Award Date	Academic Year	Name	Major	College/ University	Award Amount
May 2020	2020-21	Ashlynn Anderson	Vocal Mus Ed	Northwestern Coll	\$1000
Chair: Dee		Collin Ellsbury	Music Theater	Oklahoma City Univ	
Dunsdon		Alexander Gray	Vocal Perf	Simpson Coll	
		Lindsey Zuidema	Choral & Inst	Dordt Univ	
			Music Ed		
May 2021	2021-22	Collin Ellsbury	Mus Theatr &	Oklahoma City Univ	\$1000
Chair: Dee			Vocal Perf		
Dunsdon		Carter Hayden	Vocal Mus Ed	Wartburg Coll	
		Natalie Keenan	Vocal Mus Ed	Wartburg Coll	
May 2022	2022-23	Ethan Elsbend	Vocal Perf	Univ of Iowa	\$1000
Chair: Dee		Carter Hayden	Music Ed	Wartburg Coll	
Dunsdon		Jack McInnis	Music Ed	Wartburg Coll	
		Noah Pottorf	Music Ed	Morningside Univ	
May 2023	2023-24	Jamie Knox	Vocal Mus Ed	UNI	\$1000
Chair:		Nolan O'Connor	Vocal Perf	Transylvania Univ	
Stephanie Hill		Lennon Schriever	Vocal Perf	Wartburg Coll	
May 2024	2024-25				\$1000
Chair:		NOT	YET	AWARDED	
Stephanie Hill					
	Total to				
	Present 2023-24	70			\$46,850