Regular Meeting Minutes—City of Plantersville February 19, 2024

The Board of Aldermen of the City of Plantersville, Grimes County, Texas, met in Regular Session at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, February 19, 2024, in Town Hall, 11335 Lodge Lane, Plantersville, Texas.

Members Present:

Karen Hale, Mayor Kim Allphin, Mayor Pro-Tem Marilyn Bettes, Alderman, Secretary Frank Dean, Alderman Carolyn Kurten, Alderman

Visitors: City Attorney Bridgette Begle, Sandra Kuta, David Eppley, Deen Miller, Dedrick Mallard

1. Call to Order: Quorum established. Mayor Hale called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. The invocation was given by Alderman Kim Allphin with pledges led by Mayor Hale.

2. Minutes of Regular Meeting: January 29, 2024

Motion to Approve: Alderman Allphin

Second: Alderman Bettes **Voting:** Yes: Unanimous

Final Resolution: Motion carries

3. Public Comments:

Sandra Kuta: Identified herself as interested in running for Otis Greenwood's vacant position in the May 4 Election

David Eppley: Stated he was running for the Open Position on Board of Alderman, questioned when election/appointment would be held? Mayor Hale said that was to be decided in the Closed Session meeting tonight.

4. Invoices and items currently due and payable.

Discussion: Mayor Hale reviewed the invoices **Action – Motion to Approve:** Alderman Dean

Second: Alderman Allphin Voting: Yes: Unanimous

Final Resolution: Motion carries

- 5. Discuss/consider/approve: Items to be placed on future Agendas: Alderman Dean asked for city to purchase No Engine Brake signs for TxDOT to place within the city limits. Alderman Dean says there does not have to be an ordinance since there is no way to enforce it.
- 6. Discuss/consider/approve: City Election is May 4, 2024
 - a. First Day to File for A Place on the Ballot, Wednesday, January 17, 2024; Last Day to File for a Place on the Ballot, Friday, February 16, 2024 at 5:00 pm. Write in Candidate deadline according to Grimes County Elections Administrator, February 19, 2024; Secretary of State website states deadline, February 20, 2024.
 - b. Candidates who filed for the May 4, 2024 election as of 4:38 Friday, February 19, in alphabetical order: Marilyn Bettes, Sonya Brewer, Frank Dean, David Eppley, John Greenwood IV, Carolyn Kurten, Sandra Kuta, Dedrick Mallard and Deen Miller. Final list to be determined after February 20 write in candidate deadline.
 - c. Ballot Draw will be February 26, 2024: Plantersville Town Hall at 2:00 pm. Candidate may be present to draw, have a designated person to draw, or just let one of the people in attendance randomly draw. The Mayor said there might be a quorum present; no city business will be discussed.
- 7. Discuss: PSVFD Report: No one present from PSVFD, therefore, no report.

8. Board Update discussion: Items of community interest (no action may be discussed, except to put on an agenda).

Dr. Jon Spiers-Fentanyl Presentation, February 26, High Point Elementary School, 6:30 pm Plantersville Town Hall, Raffle and Fish Fry, St. Mary Catholic Church, March 1, Doors open 5:30, Dinner served beginning at 6:00 pm

St. Joseph Catholic Church Annual Stew Supper, March 14

Open Session closed at 7:17 pm.

Closed Session

9. Executive Session/Closed Meeting: Yes—Pursuant to Section 551.074 of Texas Government Code to deliberate appointment of an Alderman to fill vacancy. Closed Session started at 7:19 pm. Closed Session ended at 7:59 pm.

Open Session

11.

10. Return to open meeting: Return at 8:01 pm: take action on items discussed in Closed Session (Section 551.102) No action taken.

No applications of names that are on the May 4 ballot will be considered for appointment until after the election. If there are Applications of anyone not on the ballot, there will be a meeting on February 28 to consider those applications. February 21 is deadline for submission of application (if choose to withdraw from May 4 Election); no appointment guaranteed. If no applications are received, there will be no meeting.

Approved:	Attest:
Karen Hale, Mayor	Marilyn Bettes, Secretary
Date:	Date:

Mayor Hale adjourned the meeting at 8:11 pm.