## Town of Plover, Marathon County, Wisconsin Town Caucus 180771 County Road Z, Birnamwood, WI 54414

Tuesday, January 10, 2023, 6:00 p.m.

### Minutes

#### **1. Call to Order by Chairman, Tony Kautza** Chairman, Tony Kautza called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

## 2. Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag

## 3. Roll Call of Electors

Clerk Valerie Parker noted the following 9 Town Electors were present in-person:

Valerie Parker, 230801 County Road Y Tony Kautza, 184726 Village Road Peter Marien, 184949 County Road Z Scott McRae, 183527 Old Lake Road Connie Sippl, 236281 North Pole Road Rick Larson, 185153 County Road Z Tim Micke, 236841 Eau Claire River Road Cathy Marien, 184949 County Road Z Karla Larson, 185153 County Road Z

4. Town Clerk to Read the Minutes from the January 12, 2021, Caucus Valerie Parker read the minutes from the January 12, 2021, Caucus Meeting

Motion by Scott McRae, Second by Peter Marien, to approve the January 12, 2021 Caucus Meeting Minutes.

- 5. Town Chairman to Call for an Election of Officials to Conduct the Caucus:
  - a. Chair of Caucus
  - b. Two Tellers to Canvass Votes for Each Office

## Motion by Tony Kautza, Second by Valerie Parker, for Rick Larson to Chair the Caucus.

Due to lack of electors present, it was agreed that Tellers would not be needed.

## 6. Chair of Caucus Shall Announce Method for Nominations

- a. Acclamation from the Floor -or-
- b. Secret Ballot

Nominations from the floor is the method for nominations.

## 7. Chair of Caucus to Call for

a) Nominations from Electors for Town Chairperson Rick Larson called for Nominations for Town Chairperson.

# Motion by Tim Micke to nominate Tony Kautza for Chairperson, second by Karla Larson.

With no more nominations for Chairperson, Larson closed the nominations for Chairperson at 6:05 p.m.

## b) Nominations for Two (2) Town Supervisors

Rick Larson called for Nominations for two Town Supervisors.

# Motion by Tim Micke to nominate both Scott McRae and Peter Marien for Town Supervisor, second by Tony Kautza.

With no more nominations for Supervisor, Rick Larson closed the nominations for two Supervisors at 6:06 p.m.

### c) Nominations for Town Treasurer

Rick Larson called for Nominations for Town Treasurer.

# Motion by Tim Micke to nominate Connie Sippl for Treasurer, second by Peter Marien.

With no more nominations for Treasurer, Rick Larson closed the nominations for Treasurer at 6:07 p.m.

# 8. Chair of Caucus Announces the Names of all Candidates Nominated

- a. Town Chairperson Nominations
- b. Town Supervisor Nominations
- c. Town Supervisor Nominations
- d. Town Treasurer Nominations

Rick Larson announced Tony Kautza was nominated as Town Chairman, Scott McRae and Peter Marien were nominated for the Town Supervisor positions, and Connie Sippl was nominated for the Town Treasurer position.

- 9. Electors Vote for each Office by Ballot, Unless Only 1 or 2 Persons are Nominated for the Same Office This process was not needed.
- 10. Nomination and Certification of Candidates by the Chair of Caucus and Tellers to the Town Clerk
- 11. Drawing of Ordre of Candidates by the Chair of Caucus and Tellers to the Town Clerk

Parker stated since no additional people were being nominated for Supervisor position, that we can draw for name position on the ballot. Tony Kautza suggested that since we went alphabetical order last time (with Peter Marien on the ballot), that we switch it this time to place Scott McRae first, stating that since no one else is running, it won't affect anything.

Marien and McRae were both fine with this order.

### 12. Future Items/Meeting Dates

- Regular Board Meeting January 10, 2023, Immediately following the Town Caucus Meeting.
- 13. Chair of Caucus to Adjourn the Meeting Rick Larson adjourned the Town Caucus meeting at 6:08 p.m.

Respectfully,

Valerie Parker Town of Plover Clerk 230801 County Road Y Birnamwood (Town of Plover), WI 54414 (715) 581-4603 <u>vparkerplover@gmail.com</u> <u>www.townofplover.us</u>