

Twin City Area Optimist Club

P.O. Box 475 ♦ Festus, Missouri 63028 www.twincityoptimist.org

Follow us on Facebook

Affiliated with Optimist International – Serving Youth and Community since 1919

Board of Directors 2020-2021

October 16, 2020

President
Mary Kay Scott
314-795-3604

Dear Jefferson County Educator:

President Elect Gerty O'Leary

Past President
Phyllis Neff

Secretary
Cathy Elliott

Secretary Elect Mickie Huskey

<u>Treasurer</u> Pat Parsons

Treasurer Elect
Laura Elbl

Board Members

2019-2021
Patty Meyer
Debbie Schumaker
Megan Siracusa

2020-2022 Janice Boyd Judy Kuhlman Barb Schmidt This letter is to make you aware of a great opportunity for the students in your school. All southern Jefferson County high school students, under age 19 as of October 1, 2020, are invited to enter the upcoming **2020-2021 Optimist International Essay Contest**. This year the Twin City Optimist Club is offering cash prizes - \$500 for 1st Place, \$250 for 2nd Place and \$125 for 3rd Place. The winning essay will then be submitted to the district level competition. The winner of the district level competition will be awarded a \$2,500 college scholarship. All essays must be postmarked by January 31st, 2021. The essay topic is "Reaching your Dreams by Choosing Optimism".

One of our goals is to increase the number of essays submitted from southern Jefferson County schools. Any encouragement you can give your students and teachers to participate will be greatly appreciated. Enclosed are the specifics of the contest. Participants should pay special attention to the **contest rules**, **scoring** and **penalties** included in sections III, V and VI of the application.

If you should have any questions, please contact Geralyn Cash at cash57@att.net Entries should be mailed to: Twin City Area Optimist Club

Attn: Geralyn Cash P.O. Box 475 Festus, MO 63028

Thank you for your dedication to your students and taking the time to support them as they participate in this great opportunity.

Sincerely,

Geralyn Cash Essay Contest Chairperson

Enclosure