U.S. Regulatory Agencies A Guide To Key Appointments



The Biden Administration has reshaped the U.S. public policy landscape - beyond the typical Cabinet appointments. There are changes to the leadership of regulatory agencies, influencing issues such as AI, anti-trust, consumer protections, data privacy, financial regulation, monetary policy, and telecommunications.

- Current vacancies are indicated in **bold**.
- **Indicates they will be stepping down.
- Democrat appointee is indicated by Blue, Republican is indicated by Red.

Overarching

Supreme Court: Lifetime Appointments

- Chief Justice John Roberts
- Associate Justice Clarence Thomas
- Associate Justice Samuel Alito
- > Associate Justice Neil Gorsuch
- Associate Justice Brett Kavanaugh
- Associate Justice Amy Coney Barrett
- Associate Justice Ketanji Brown Jackson
- Associate Justice Sonia Sotomayor
- Associate Justice Elena Kagan

Federal Reserve Board of Governors: 14-Year Terms

- ➤ Chair: Jerome Powell, chair appointment expires 2026, board term expires 2028
- ➤ Vice Chair: Phillip Jefferson, vice chair appointment expires 2027, terms expires 2036
- Vice Chair, Supervision: Michael Barr, vice chair appointment expires 2026, term expires 2032
- > Governor: Michelle Bowman, term expires 2034
- ➤ Governor: Christopher Waller, term expires 2030
- ➤ Governor: Lisa Cook, term expires 2038
- > Governor: Philip Jefferson, term expires 2036
- Governor: Adriana Kugler, term expires 2026

Financial Stability Oversight Council: Terms Vary For Voting Members

- Secretary of the Treasury (Cabinet member)
- ➤ Federal Reserve Chair
- Comptroller of the Currency
- ➤ CFPB Director
- > SEC Chair
- > FDIC Chair
- CFTC Chair
- Federal Housing Finance Agency Director: Sandra Thompson
- National Credit Union Administration Chair: Todd Harper, term expires 2025
- Independent Member: Thomas Workman, term expires 2024

Federal Communications Commission: Five-Year Terms

- ➤ Chair: Jessica Rosenworcel, term expires 2025
- Commissioner: Geoffery Starks, term expires 2027
- > Commissioner: Nathan Simington, term expires 2024
- Commissioner: Brendan Carr, term expires 2028
- Commissioner: Anna Gomez, term expires 2026

Consumer and Financial Regulations

Federal Trade Commission: Seven-Year Terms

- > Chair: Lina Khan, term expires 2028
- Commissioner: Rebecca Kelly Slaughter, term expires 2025
- > Commissioner: Alvaro Bedoya, term expires 2026
- Commissioner: Andrew Ferguson, term expires 2030
- Commissioner: Melissa Holyoak, term expires 2025

Commodity Futures Trading Commission: Five-Year Terms

- Chair: Rostin Behnam, term expires 2026
- Commissioner: Kristin Johnson, term expires 2025
- Commissioner: Christy Romero, term expires 2024
- Commissioner: Summer Mersinger, term expires 2028
- ➤ Commissioner: Caroline Pham, term expires 2027

Securities and Exchange Commission: Five-Year Terms

- ➤ Chair: Gary Gensler, term expires 2026
- Commissioner: Jaime Lizárraga, term expires 2027
- > Commissioner: Caroline Crenshaw, term expires 2024
- > Commissioner: Hester Pierce, term expires 2025
- Commissioner: Mark Uyeda, term expires 2028

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation: Staggered Appointments

- ➤ Chair: Martin Gruenberg, term expires 2027
- Vice-Chair: Travis Hill, term expires 2027
- Internal Director: Jonathan McKernan, term expires 2024

Office of the Comptroller of the Currency: Five Year Terms

Comptroller of the Currency: Michael Hsu (Acting)

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau: Five-Year Terms

Director: Rohit Chopra, term expires 2026