## COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS August 21, 2023

The Jewell County Commissioners met August 21, 2023, at 8:30 a.m. Commissioners Keith Roe, and Ed Duskie were present. Carla J. Waugh, County Clerk, was present for the meeting.

Ed Duskie moved, and Keith Roe seconded to approve abatement numbers 2553 and 2554. Motion passed.

The minutes of the August 14, 2023, County Commissioners meeting were approved.

Cindy Becker, Health Administrator, had a contract for the Commissioners' approval with Mitchell County for the WIC program participants. Keith Roe moved that the proper officer sign the contract with Mitchell County to provide nutrition education for the WIC program participants. Ed Duskie seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Cindy Becker also had the County Health Officer Agreement for approval. Ed Duskie moved to appoint Dr. Walker as the Health Officer for the Health Department and to sign the County Health Officer Agreement. Keith Roe seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Cindy Becker requested Commissioners' approval on the KDHE grant application. Ed Duskie moved that the proper officer sign the grant application to the State of Kansas Department of Health and Environment for the period of December 1, 2023, through November 30, 2027, for the Aid to Local/Workforce Development Grant. Keith Roe seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Cindy Becker had a Memorandum of Understanding for the Commissioners' approval. Ed Duskie moved to approve the Jewell County Health 365, Prevention Task Force, Contractors Memorandum of Understanding with Abigail Elkins. Keith Roe seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Keith Roe and Ed Duskie said they viewed the road in Vicksburg township with the questionable bridge. Joel Elkins, General Superintendent, had a contract for the engineer for the bridge in Limestone township. Ed Duskie moved to approve the PEC Engineer Contract for KDOT Project No. 45 C-5235-01 Bridge Replacement project. Keith Roe seconded. Motion passed. Commissioners discussed road concerns.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:00 a.m.	
Ed Duskie, Member	Brent Beck, Chairman
Carla J. Waugh, County Clerk	Keith Roe, Vice-Chairman

1 . 10 00