COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS September 18, 2023

The Jewell County Commissioners met September 18, 2023, at 8:30 a.m. Commissioners Brent Beck, Keith Roe, and Ed Duskie were present. Carla J. Waugh, County Clerk, was present for the meeting.

The minutes of the September 11, 2023, County Commissioners meeting was approved.

Joel Elkins, General Superintendent, discussed road and bridge maintenance. Brent Beck discussed Dennis Kennedy's bridge concern.

The Commissioners met at the west entrance of the Courthouse to answer questions concerning the Lawn Maintenance Services RFP. Those present for the discussion were Lori Zadina, Brian Murray, Denny Murray, and Chris Petet.

Travis Garst, Solid Waste said Cottonwood Restoration would be able complete the hail damage repairs.

Ed Duskie moved, and Keith Roe seconded the motion to pass resolution 23-06 concerning changes to the permanent burn ban. Motion passed unanimously.

The Commissioners will have a special meeting on Friday, September 22, 2023, and Tuesday, September 26, 2023, for the purpose of conducting interviews for the Solid Waste Director.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:45 a.m.

The Commissioners and County Clerk attended the Multi-County meeting hosted by Mitchell County. Osborne, Smith, Jewell, Republic, and Mitchell Counties were all present for the meeting. Kyle Peterson, Director of the Mitchell County Museum, presented background history on the museum collections. Phil Murrow, Sanitarian, announced that a requirement of the LEPG agreement was to meet two times per year. He discussed various projects he had worked on in the different counties and the possibility of increasing permit fees. He also discussed an issue with an application in Republic County. After a long discussion it was moved by Craig, Osborne Co Commissioner to issue the domestic permit for livestock to Wayne Pachta, Republic County. Brent Beck, Jewell Co Commissioner seconded the motion. Mitchell Co voted Not to approve the motion with Jewell, Republic, Smith, and Osborne Counties voting yes to approve the motion. Motion passed. The next meeting will be hosted by Osborne County.

Ed Duskie, Member	Brent Beck, Chairman	
Carla J. Waugh, County Clerk	Keith Roe, Vice-Chairman	
Carra J. Waugh, County Clerk	Keitii Koe, vice-Chairman	