COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS September 28, 2020

The Jewell County Commissioners met September 28, 2020 at 8:30 a.m. Commissioners Mark Fleming, Steve Greene, and Keith Roe were present. Carla J Waugh, County Clerk was present for the meeting.

4-H Members, Faith Reinert, Jayce Cady, Aaron Underwood, and Nelson Underwood, along with Tonia Underwood and Nora Rhoades, presented the Proclamation for National 4-H Week for the Commissioners' review and approval. Steve Greene moved to declare October 4th through October 10th as National 4-H Week. Keith Roe seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

The following were present for office head meeting: Don Jacobs, Sheriff; Anna Porter, County Appraiser; Travis Garst, Solid Waste Director; Shannon Meier, Ambulance Director; Chris Petet, Custodian; Amanda Davis, Register of Deeds; Kevin Peroutek, Noxious Weed Director, Emergency Preparedness Director and 911 Coordinator; Nancy Marihugh, Health Administrator; and Carla J Waugh, County Clerk. Those absent: Brenda Eakins, Treasurer and Joel Elkins, General Superintendent.

Nora Rhoades, District Extension Director, provided updates for the Extension District.

Kevin Peroutek said he has been able to complete some spraying in the mornings. He reported that he has had some chemical sales. He will be sending notices for properties that need to be sprayed. Kevin Peroutek said the County was approved for the SPARK Care Act expenditures that were submitted. He said the SPARK committee was meeting on expenditure procedures tonight. Kevin Peroutek said he received approval on the EOC grant application.

Travis Garst said they have been busy at the C&D pit. He has been working on the permit renewal.

Nancy Marihugh said that the County had 3 COVID-19 cases in September with only one active case at this time and several in quarantine. She reported no positive COVID-19 cases in our school district. Nancy Marihugh said the Telehealth grant for Pawnee Mental Health will install equipment in the Health Department. Nancy Marihugh reported on a meeting she attended and grant renewals. She has met with the Jewell County Hospital to review CMS required testing at the long-term care. Nancy Marihugh said the WIC program has extended the waiver for in person visits. She reported that Home Health continues to work on their visit. Nancy Marihugh has not received the flu vaccine yet but hopes to by the end of the week.

Shannon Meier said he went to Hays to get his replacement pickup. He has been working on CMS regulations because of COVID.

Amanda Davis reported that she hired Brianna Hanson.

Anna Porter said they are about 95% complete with re-inspection. Anna Porter said she is finishing up year-end reports.

Don Jacobs reported they had the first SAFE drawing for the school year.

Carla Waugh reported on the election supplies received through the Secretary of State's grant. She reported several voters have requested advance ballots.

Steve Greene said he attended the economic development meeting.

Mark Fleming said he attended the NCRPC meeting. This concluded office head meeting.

Darrell Miller, County Attorney, had the exchange agreement for the Commissioners' approval. Steve Greene moved to sign the exchange agreement between Mark Stenson and Jewell County. Keith Roe seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

The minutes of the September 21, 2020 County Commissioners meeting were approved.

The Commissioners telephoned Albert Gardner, Vericlaim, concerning the County's claim from the August 14 hail storm.

Joel Elkins, General Superintendent, discussed maintenance projects and equipment repairs. Joel said they have recently replaced ten tubes. Commissioners discussed road maintenance.

Luke Hauf inquired if the county had regulations on dog control. The Commissioners said the county does not have dog control regulations.

Mark Fleming moved, and Steve Greene seconded to sign the letter to Kansas Department of Commerce concerning Jewell County's Grant #20-CV-035. Motion passed unanimously.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:25 a.m.

Keith Roe, Member

Mark Fleming, Chairman

Carla J. Waugh, County Clerk

Steve Greene, Member