## SCHOLARSHIP PRESS RELEASE



Contact: Lucas Farrell, Executive Director

Email: info@futureleadersofmaine.org

Phone: (802) 380-2501

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE



## 2025 DR. TOM FARRELL FUTURE LEADERS OF MAINE SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENT ANNOUNCEMENT

YARMOUTH, ME – The Future Leaders of Maine Foundation is thrilled to announce that Mya Schildroth of Blue Hill, Maine, has been selected as the recipient of the 2025 Dr. Tom Farrell Future Leaders of Maine Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded to a graduating high school senior who plans to attend the University of Maine and who demonstrates positive leadership skills, a commitment to serving their communities, and who excels in extra-curricular activities. The \$15,000 scholarship will fully cover tuition for the recipient's first academic year.

Mya is a graduating senior at George Stevens Academy and plans to attend the University of Maine at Orono this Fall. "I would define a great leader as someone who has integrity, organizational skills, puts others before themselves, has great communication skills, and has the ability to inspire others to achieve a specific goal," Mya said.

"Mya exhibited so many of the leadership qualities we looked for in our applicants," said Deborah Farrell, Future Leaders of Maine Board Member and wife to the late Dr. Tom Farrell, who passed away last year after a fifty-year career in education. "She was president of her student council, a captain on her basketball, soccer, and softball teams, attended numerous leadership conferences, received the Principal's Award at GSA, the list goes on and on. She's exactly the kind of young leader Tom would have wanted to celebrate and support: someone who treats others with compassion, empowers others to be the best versions of themselves, and understands the importance of helping others and giving back to their communities."

Finalists for this year's scholarship included Shea Abbott of Yarmouth High School (Yarmouth, Maine), Jasmine Royal of Nokomis Regional High School (Newport, Maine), Liam Murphy of Old Town High School (Old Town, Maine), Olivia Leighton of Ellsworth High School (Ellsworth, Maine), and Helen Harrington of Oceanside High School (Rockland, Maine).

"I am extremely grateful for the Farrell family's generosity and kind words," says Mya. "I am thrilled to be the first recipient of The Future Leaders of Maine Scholarship."

The Future Leaders of Maine Foundation was launched in 2024 to honor Dr. Farrell's style of leadership and legacy of giving. Its mission is to support Maine's next young leaders through an annual student scholarship program. The next application period will open in January of 2026. All high school seniors in Maine planning on attending the University of Maine are encouraged to apply. To learn more, please visit: www.futureleadersofmaine.org.