# OSSTF Limestone District 27 Teachers' Bargaining Unit

# Annual General Meeting

# Wednesday, May 17, 2023 – immediately following the District AGM at 4:30 p.m. Virtual meeting via Zoom

# MINUTES

Speaker: Mark Kissel (OSSTF Speaker Bank)

Provincial representatives: Tom Golightly (secretariat)

**Present**: See sign-in sheets

- 1. **Call to Order** The Chair, Mark Kissel, called the meeting to order at 6:24 pm.
- 2. Indigenous Land Acknowledgement, OSSTF Pledge, Anti-harassment Statement The Indigenous Land Acknowledgement, Pledge and Anti-Harassment Statement were deemed read, having done them at the District AGM. Wendy Bonnell was appointed as the Anti-Harassment Officer.
- 3. Adoption of the Agenda Motion: Moved Andrea Loken, seconded by Deb Gavel that the Agenda be adopted. CARRIED

# 4. Approval of Minutes – May 17, 2022

Motion: Moved by John Vince, seconded by Deb Gavel that the Minutes of May 17, 2022 be approved. CARRIED

# 5. Introductions

Andrea Loken introduced members of the Teachers' Bargaining Unit Executive. The Wib Mayor Award recipient was Carlos Alberto who had been presented with the award at the District AGM.

# 6. President Report – Andrea Loken

Andrea referred Members to her written report in the package and invited questions about her report. (A more substantial verbal report was given at the District AGM.)

# 7. Provincial Executive Liaison Report – Colin Matthew

No provincial report was given by Colin as he was not able to attend.

# 8. Treasurer Report – Rachelle Séguin

Rachelle reviewed the proposed budget highlighting the major budget lines, reasons for differences between projected and actual expenditures, and the changes to next year's budget lines. Rachelle entertained questions about the budget.

Motion: T-BUDG 1 – 2023 Moved by Andrea Loken, seconded by Deb Gavel that the Teachers' Bargaining Unit Budget for 2023-24 be approved. POSTPONED

Motion: PROC 1 Moved by David Mathers, seconded by Tonia Moore, that T-BUDG 1 – 2023 be postposed to item 15. CARRIED

#### 9. Report of the Nominations and Elections Committee – Wendy Bonnell

Wendy announced that the Nominations and Elections Committee received the following nominations for elected positions:

TBU President – Andrea Loken TBU Vice-president – Rachelle Séguin TBU Second Vice-president – no on-time nominations received TBU Secretary – no on-time nominations received TBU Treasurer – David Mathers

Wendy declared Andrea Loken, Rachelle Séguin and David Mathers acclaimed for their respective positions.

Wendy called for nominations for the TBU Second Vice-President. Kim Thorne was nominated and accepted the nomination. No other nominations were made.

Kim Thorne was acclaimed as TBU Second Vice-President.

Wendy called for nominations for the TBU Secretary. No nominations were made. Therefore, the position of Secretary was declared vacant.

# 10. Candidate Speeches / Question Period

There were no speeches as all positions were acclaimed.

#### 11. District President Report – Wendy Bonnell

Wendy referred Members to her written report and invited questions.

# 12. Collective Bargaining Report – Shawn Lavender & John Vince

Shawn and John referred to their written report and invited questions.

## 13. On-time resolutions

There were no on-time resolutions.

## 14. Resolutions from the floor

Motion: BUDG 1 – Amendment 1 Moved by Elizabeth MacDonald, seconded by Susan Kirby that lines 5410 – TBU Officer Release Time (2/3 position), line 5411 – TBU Officer Allowance, and line 5412 – TBU Officer Expenses be deleted. Considered en bloc via PROC 2/PROC 3

Motion: BUDG 1 – Amendment 2 Moved by Elizabeth MacDonald, seconded by Susan Kirby that TBU Chief Negotiator Release Time (1/3 position) be deleted. Considered en bloc via PROC 2/PROC 3

Motion: BUDG 1 – Amendment 3 Moved by Elizabeth MacDonald, seconded by Susan Kirby that TBU Chief Negotiator Release Time, the TBU Chief Negotiator Allowance, and the TBU Chief Negotiator Expenses be inserted into the Release Expenses Lines. Considered en bloc via PROC 2/PROC 3

Motion: PROC 2 Moved by Elizabeth MacDonald, seconded by Susan Kirby that BUDG 1 – Amendment 1, BUDG 1 – Amendment 2, BUDG 1 – Amendment 3 be voted on en bloc. CARRIED

Motion: PROC 3 Moved by Elizabeth MacDonald, seconded by Susan Kirby that the motions contained in PROC 2 be approved. REFERRED

Motion: PROC 4 Moved by John Vince, seconded by Andrea Loken, that the motions in PROC 3 be referred to the TBU Constitution and Budget Committees for consideration and report back by January 30, 2024 to the TBU Executive. CARRIED

# 15. Final Report of the Budget Committee

Motion: T-BUDG 1 – 2023 Moved by Andrea Loken, seconded by Deb Gavel that the Teachers' Bargaining Unit Budget for 2023-24 be approved.

#### 16. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 7:22 pm.