

Minutes of the AGM, 20th October 2022.

Held at Guildford Fire Station, also via Zoom.

Present: Steve Owen-Hughes (President), Matt Stokes (Chairman), Seamus Higgins (Vice Chairman), Graham Hill-Howgate (General Secretary), Frank Turner (Vice President), Rev Canon Thomas Woodhouse (Chaplain), Robb Watts (Surrey F&RS).

Attending By Zoom: Geoff McSweeney (Vice President), Steve Shirley (Vice President), Peter Mills (Governing Council), Paul Basson (Governing Council), Mark Skinner (London & South East District), Andy Phillips (London & South East District)

Apologies: George Halstead (MWF), Vernon Fisher(Vice President), Dave Lown (Governing Council), Dick Lovelace (Vice President), John Watson (Governing Council), Dan Quin (Surrey F&RS), Mike Ware(Member).

The Chairman opened the meeting and the Chaplain gave a blessing for the BFSA.

The minutes of the 2020 AGM were put for agreement as a true record. *Proposed: John Watson, seconded Seamus Higgins, Agreed.*

The outgoing Chairman delivered his Valedictory Address and Installed Seamus Higgins as the new Chairman of Governing Council who gave his installation address.

The 2021 accounts were put for acceptance.

Proposed: Frank Turner, seconded Vernon Fisher. Agreed.

The President, list of Vice-Presidents and Chaplain were put for acceptance.

Proposed: Paul Basson, seconded Matt Stokes. Agreed.

The General Secretary recommended that our accountants Simon Moss & Co be re-appointed. *Proposed: Steve Shirley, seconded Geoff McSweeney. Agreed.*

Following discussion at the Executive Committee and the Governing Council meeting of 17th March the proposal for a District Re-Structuring was put to the meeting. This was agreed.

The new District Structure is: Northern/West Midlands & Central/London & South East/Southern/Wales/Scotland/Northern Ireland/Overseas attached to the Central Office *

* It was recommended by the General Secretary to co-opt an Overseas Territories representative on to the Governing Council.

Having been nominated by Frank Turner, nominations for the grade of Fellow for Steve Shirley & Dave Lown were put for approval. These were agreed.

The General Secretary nominated Robert Glasspool (Southern District) & Tommy Bristow (Northern District) for Honorary Life Membership. These were agreed.

Any other business not requiring notice of motion:

The meeting noted the 62 years of service given to the association and Governing Council by Peter Mills who had submitted his resignation from the Governing Council. The Chairman proposed a vote of thanks for Peter, which was received with applause.

The President delivered the Closing Address and wished everyone well for the remainder of the year and best wishes for the festive season with thanks to the members of the Governing Council and General Secretary.