2020 Scholarships, Awards & Grants Recipients

V.A. Leonard Scholarship

Undergraduate

Kimia Bell North Carolina Central University Eta Lambda Chapter

Graduate

Ashlerose Francia New Mexico State University, Las Cruces Alpha Chi Alpha Chapter

Best Paper Competition

Undergraduate

1st place **Emily Giese** New Mexico State University, Las Cruces Alpha Chi Alpha Chapter

"Residential Segregation & Crime"

2nd place

Taylor GonzalesNew Mexico State University, Las CrucesAlpha Chi Alpha Chapter"The Racial Disparities Present in the Sentencing Phase of theU.S. Criminal Justice System"

2nd place

Merlyn Recinos College of New Jersey, Delta Phi Sigma Chapter "Reform and Justice: The United States' Bail System"

Graduate

1st place **Raya Berkley**

University of Maryland Eastern Shore Gamma Omicron Chapter "The Criminal Justice System's Response to Intimate Partner Violence"

2nd place

Stephanie Novak California State University, Fresno, Lambda Omega Chapter "Perceptions of Emotional Intimate Partner Violence"

Regina B. Shearn Scholarship

Undergraduate

Mya White Heidelberg University Pi Delta Pi Chapter

Graduate

Alberto Salazar New Mexico State University Alpha Chi Alpha Chapter

Community Service "Theme" Project Awards



FAMILY VIOLENCE

1st Place Tied

New Mexico State University, Las Cruces Alpha Chi Alpha Chapter

> Eastern Kentucky University Epsilon Chapter

2nd Place Missouri State University Sigma Mu Sigma Chapter

Seaton Hill University Pi Gamma Nu

Member of the Year

Kyle Reid Boise State University

Advisors of the Year

Kristina Lopez Pi Omega Chapter University of North Florida

Ivy Yarckow-Brown Sigma Mu Sigma Chapter Missouri State University

Star Chapters

New Mexico State University, Las Cruces Alpha Chi Alpha Chapter

Eastern Kentucky University Epsilon Chapter

> Fairmont State University Epsilon Iota Chapter

Missouri State University Sigma Mu Sigma Chapter

North Carolina Central University Eta Lambda Chapter

Chapter Goal Awards

Unity, Educational Leadership, & Community Service

Leadership

New Mexico State University, Las Cruces Alpha Chi Alpha Chapter

<u>Service</u>

Two Theme of the Year projects were very good therefore the award was split between both

Eastern Kentucky University Epsilon Chapter

New Mexico State University, Las Cruces Alpha Chi Alpha Chapter

Unity

Fairmont State University Epsilon Iota Chapter

Eastern Kentucky University Epsilon Chapter

Student Achievement Award

Leah Reilly Kenneson State University

Rene Rodriguez New Mexico State University

Kylie Stottlemyer Mary Baldwin University

Ginny Oshiro California State, Fullerton

Daniel Lee Boise State University

Website Awards

Boise State University Alpha Kappa Chapter

Arizona State University Beta Sigma Chapter

Ball State University Beta Sigma Upsilon Chapter

Eastern Kentucky University Epsilon Chapter

New Mexico State University, Las Cruces Alpha Chi Alpha Chapter

T-Shirt Competition

<u>Ist place</u> New Mexico State University, Las Cruces Alpha Chi Alpha Chapter

> 2nd place Eastern Kentucky University Epsilon Chapter

Outstanding Yearbook

New Mexico State University, Las Cruces Alpha Chi Alpha Chapter

> Fairmont State University Epsilon Iota Chapter