

The Sanibel Island Fishing Club PO Box 989 + Sanibel, FL 33957

April 2024 Newsletter

Meeting plans

In addition to the presentation by Kevin Vertesch, there will be some official business for all members to discuss and vote on.

- 1) Election of officers for the 2024-2025 season.
- 2) The board will recommend charitable contributions to be made from our treasury. This will be voted on by the membership.

Also, if anyone is interested in one of the positions at the club, please let us know.

3) Plans for May.

Photo below is Rol with a grouper caught on Captain Billy's boat earlier this year.



April Monthly Meeting N: Tuesday, April 9

WHEN: Tuesday, April 9WHERE: Sanibel Island CommunityCenterTIME: 6:30pm Pizza - 7:00pm Meeting

Speaker: Kevin Vertesch Topic: Tarpon!



May's featured speaker will be Kevin Vertesch, Past President and Honorary Lifetime member of the Sanibel Island Fishing club. Kevin was the Outings Director for several years and established the tournament competition that we currently use. He was named "Angler of the Year" six times.

Kevin is also past President of the Fort Myers Beach Tarpon Hunters Club. Twotime Angler of the Year and five-time Captain Club Champion. He is Currently Vice President of the Cape Coral Bass Club.

Kevin will speak about some of the basics of tarpon fishing in our local waters. He will explain both bait and tackle selection and his presentation is designed specifically to help those new to tarpon fishing, so they can get out on the water and conquer the "Silver King".

Next Club Outing

The next outing is **April 13**. An Inshore Dartboard. The are no plans currently for an outing after the April tournament, as many of our members are leaving for their summer homes.

2023-2024 Meeting Schedule	
May	14

2023-2024 Angler of the Year Standings after the March, 2024 Inshore Dartboard Outing

Simon Tutt	244.5
Bob Stern	203
Frances Tutt	195
Jerry Vadnais	188.5
David Gurney	174
Andrea Dankenbrink	159.5
Bob McKneaney	159
David Lewis	158

For complete listing of Angler and Captain of the Year standings, check our website: http://www.sanibelislandfishingclu b.com/

2023-2024 Captain of the Year		
Standings after the March		
inshore Dartboa	rd	
Bob Stern	59	
David Lewis	54	
Roger King	39	
Chuck Bye	36	

