Bylaws for WAWH Frances Richardson Keller-Sierra Prize (Approved 2014)

- 1. The Frances Richardson Keller-Sierra Prize is an annual prize that recognizes the best monograph in the field of history published by a WAWH member.
- 2. Applicants to the Keller-Sierra Prize must be current members of WAWH when they submit their book. Current WAWH board members are not eligible to apply.
- 3. The book must be a single-authored monograph based on original research in English. Anthologies and edited works are not eligible. The book must have been published in the year prior to the prize. Books may only be submitted for consideration once. Books cannot be submitted a second time as paperbacks or new editions. All fields of history are eligible.
- 4. Applicants for the Keller-Sierra Prize must submit the following to the selection committee:
 - a. A prize application form.
 - b. One copy of the entry for each committee member.
 - c. Statement that the applicant is a current member of the WAWH.
- 5. The Prize Committee Members shall:
 - a. Be appointed by the President for a three-year term.
 - b. Have terms that are staggered in a three-year cycle. Each year a new committee member will be appointed. In case of an incomplete term of service, an appointment must be made to complete the term of service.
- 6. The Prize Committee Chair shall:
 - a. Ideally have at least one year experience on this committee prior to taking over the position of Chair.
 - b. Be responsible in overseeing the work of the committee, including receiving and distributing applications to committee members, timely determination of prize recipient(s), and notifying all applicants, selected and not selected, and the Executive Director of the decisions made by the committee.
 - c. Present, or appoint someone to present, the prize to the winner at the annual conference.
 - d. Make a summary report to the Executive Board at the annual meeting.
- 7. Each prize committee member shall review and rate each application for the Keller-Sierra Prize. From their individual ratings, Committee members shall reach a consensus on the recipient(s) of the Keller-Sierra Prize.
- 8. The Committee shall use the following criteria in selecting recipients:
 - a. Originality of conception and analysis.
 - b. Wide research and careful documentation.
 - c. Clarity of expression.
- 9. The prize will be determined by the Keller-Sierra Prize Committee subject to funding availability and the applicant pool.
- 10. The Keller-Sierra Prize recipients(s) shall be announced at the annual conference.