Meeting:District 39 CommitteeDate:February 10, 2022 6:30pmLocation:South Heart Fire Hall, South Heart, NDIn attendance:Jacob Odermann- Chair

- Call to Order by Chair Jacob Odermann

 Pledge of Allegiance
- 2. In Attendance:

2.1 Executive Committee	e: Jacob Odermann- Chair Hope Klein- Secretary Anthony Larson- Treasurer Steve Klym- At Large John Jacobson- At Large Representative Keith Kempenich
2.2 Ex-Offico Members:	
2.3 Other attendees:	Annette Steffan- Parliamentarian Jeff Skaar David Helland Andrew Kordonowy

- 3. Approval of the agenda
 - 3.1 Motion: Chuck Whitney motioned to approve the meeting agenda. Seconded by Steve Klym. Discussion called. By voice vote motion passed.

4. Approval of meeting minutes

- 4.1 Recognition of Secretary Klein
- 4.2 Each member present received a copy of the meeting minutes from the 1.31.22 District 39 Reorganizational Meeting. One change was presented by Secretary Hope Klein. In sections 4.7 and 4.8, the motion described did not have a second (4.7). The rescind of the second was removed from the minutes (4.8).

- 4.2a Representative Keith Kempenich moved to approve the meeting minutes from the 1.31.22 District 39 Reorganization meeting. Seconded by Ben Simons. Discussion called. By voice vote, meeting minutes approved.
- 5. Treasurers Report
 - 5.1 Representative Keith Kempenich gave the treasure report regarding the current cash activity in District 39
- 6. Distribution of Funds to District 26 from old District 39
 - 6.1a Ben Simons moved to split the funds 47% to new District 39 and 53% to new District 26. Seconded by Chuck Whitney. Discussion called. By voice vote motion passed.
- 7. Signatures for District business account and combination of accounts
 - 7.1 Ben Simons moved that Chair Jacob Odermann is a signor on District 39's bank account. Seconded by Luke Simons. Discussion called. By voice vote, motion passed.
 - 7.2 Chuck Whitney moved to have Anthony Larson as a second signer on the account. Seconded by Luke Simons. Discussion called. By voice vote, motion passed.
 - 7.3 Representative Keith Kempenich moved to have two signors on a check that is greater than \$500. Seconded by Representative Mike Schatz. Discussion called. By voice vote, motion passed.
 - 7.4 Chuck Whitney moved to have Cal Klewin as a third signer on the account. Seconded by Anthony Larson. Discussion called
 - 7.4a Representative Mike Schatz moved to amend the prior motion and instead of Cal Klewin, have Hope Klein as the third signer on the bank account. Seconded by John Jacobson. Discussion called. By voice vote amendment to the main motion to have Hope Klein as the third signer passed.
 - 7.4b Amended main motion which to have Hope Klein as the third signer. Discussion called. By voice vote, the amended main motion passed.
 - 7.5 Chair Jacob Odermann appointed Hope Klein to request District 26 meeting minutes
 - 7.6 Chair Jacob Odermann assigned himself to create a contact list for the District

- 7.7 Chuck Whitney posed a question to former members of District 36, whether similar conversations had occurred regarding funds from District 36 being distributed to District 39. Luke Simons and Mike Schatz confirmed that Mike had received \$3300 that he placed into his campaign account
- 7.8 Chuck Whitney moved to close discussion on financial business. Seconded by Steve Klym. Discussion called. By voice vote of all members, motion passed
- 8. Creation of Standing Committees and appointment of chairs
 - 8.1 Elections- Chair Jacob Odermann appointed David Helland as chair of the elections standing committee
 - 8.2 Membership/Registration- Chair Jacob Odermann appointed Jeff Skaare as chair of the membership and registration standing committee
 - 8.3 Nominating Committee (State Convention Delegation)- Chair Jacob Odermann appointed Hope Klein as chair of State Convention Delegation
 - 8.4 District 26 Discussions- Chair Jacob Odermann appointed Keith Kempenich to steer discussion with District 26.
 - 8.5 Jeff Skaare and David Helland are now considered Ex-Offico members of District 36 Executive Committee.
 - 8.6 Ben Simons moved to approve the 3 standing committee chairs,
 - 8.6a Jeff Skaare Membership/registrations Committee
 - 8.6b David Helland- Elections Committee
 - 8.6c Hope Klein- Nominating committee
 - 8.6d Keith Kempenich to steer discussion with District 26.

Seconded by Chuck Whitney. Discussion called. By voice vote of all members, the motion passes.

- 9. Adoption of the By-Laws
 - 9.1. Representative Keith Kempenich moved to bring forth the latest draft of the bylaws; Seconded by Chuck Whitney. Discussion called.
 - 9.1a Ben Simons moved to Amend Article 7 add a section 5 that says Former resident members of the ND Legislative assembly will serve as honorary non-voting members of the Executive Committee; seconded by Jon Jacobson. By individual voice vote, amendment passed. Vote count Yey-13, Nay-0
 - 9.1b Ben Simons moved to Amend Article 7 add section 6: The immediate past resident chair shall serve as an ex-officio voting member of the executive committee; seconded by Mike Schatz. Discussion called. By individual voice vote, amendment failed. Vote count Yey-4, Nay-9
 - 9.1c Representative Keith Kempenich moves to Amend Article 7 add section 6: The immediate past resident chair shall serve as an honorary non-voting member of the executive committee;

seconded by Jon Jacobson. Discussion called. By individual voice vote amendment passed. Vote count Yey-10, Nay-3

- 9.1d Chair Jacob Odermann call to vote on the amended original motion which is to bring forth the draft of the new bylaws for discussion as amended. By voice vote of all members, motion passed.
- 9.2 Chuck Whitney moved to adopt the draft bylaws as reviewed and amended; seconded by Steve Klym. Discussion called.
 - 9.2a Ben Simons moves to postpone voting for the adoption of the bylaws the February 28, 2022 meeting. Seconded by Luke Simons. Discussion called. Chuck Whitney called the question of whether to continue discussion or to table the voting on the bylaws. Instructions on the vote: no to continue discussion, yes to table the adoption of the Bylaws. By individual voice vote to continue discussion or to table. Vote count: 3 yeys to table, 10 nays to continue discussion. Discussion continued.
 - 9.2b. Chair Jacob Odermann called to vote on the motion to adopt the draft bylaws as reviewed and amended with provision for scripter errors. By voice vote of all members. Motion passed. Bylaws are adopted.
- 10. Entertained by chair Jacob Odermann to adjourn the meeting. Second. Meeting adjourned at approximately 11:20 pm.

Next Meeting: February 28, 2022 7:00 PM (MST) Slope County Fairgrounds Amidon ND