Sabine Medal Announcement



Peter D'Antonio has been named recipient of the Wallace Clement Sabine Medal for "Contributions to the theory, design and application of acoustic



diffusers." The award will be presented at the spring 2024 meeting to be held in Ottawa, Canada.



Peter D'Antonio received a B.S. from St. John's University and a Ph.D. from the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn. He has specialized in a wide variety of scientific disciplines including spectroscopy, x-ray, neutron and electron diffraction, electron and atomic force microscopy, software development, and architectural

acoustics. He retired from the Naval Research Lab in Washington, DC, in 1996 after 29 years of research in diffraction physics. As a musician and recording engineer, Dr. D'Antonio maintained a separate concurrent career in the music industry and developed a widely adopted design for modern recording control rooms at Underground Sound, Largo, Maryland, utilizing a temporal and spatial reflection free zone and reflection phase grating diffusors. In 1983, Dr. D'Antonio founded RPG Diffusor Systems, Inc. to design, test, manufacture and commercialize acoustical diffusers and absorbers to expand the acoustical palette. In 2016, he sold the company after more than three decades of successful innovation and operation. He pioneered the sound diffusion industry, developed the diffusion coefficient methodology enshrined as ISO-17497-2 in 2012, co-authored three editions of the reference text "Acoustic Absorbers and Diffusers: Theory, Design and Application", was Adjunct Professor of Acoustics at the Cleveland Institute of Music, founded the Chesapeake Acoustic Research Institute, LLC, and has created and implemented a wide range of novel number-theoretic, fractal and optimized diffusing and absorbing surfaces, for which he holds many trademarks and patents. Dr. D'Antonio is a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America and the Audio Engineering Society and a 2012 Inductee into the music industry's TECnology Hall of Fame.