Acoustics Today

PULLEY TO MOTOR

> DOOR COVERING TEST PANEL

SOUND CHAMBER

AIR SPACE

LIGHT BOXES

STEEL REFLECTORS

Fall 2023 Volume 19, Issue 3

··=··ASA

AIR S

INNER

An Acoustical Society of America publication

Measuring Sound Absorption: The Hundred-Year Debate on the Reverberation Chamber Method

ORGAN

SOUND PERSPECTIVES

Recent Acoustical Society of America Awards and Prizes

Acoustics Today is pleased to present the names of the recipients of the various awards and prizes given out by the Acoustical Society of America. After the recipients are approved by the Executive Council of the Society at each semiannual meeting, their names are published in the next issue of *Acoustics Today*.

Congratulations to the following recipients of Acoustical Society of America medals, awards, prizes, and fellowships, who will be formally recognized at the Fall 2023 Plenary Session. For more information on the accolades, please see acousticstoday.org/asa-awards, acousticalsociety.org/prizes, and acousticstoday.org/fellowships.

Wallace Clement Sabine Medal

Peter D'Antonio (RPG Acoustical Systems LLC) for contributions to theory, design, and application of acoustic diffusers

Rossing Prize in Acoustics Education Scott D. Sommerfeldt (Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah) Silver Medal in Acoustical Oceanography

Stan E. Dosso (University of Victoria, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada) for contributions to Bayesian inference methods in ocean acoustics and marine geophysics

David T. Blackstock Mentorship Award (Awarded by the Student Council) Mark F. Hamilton (University of Texas at Austin)

Congratulations also to the following members who were elected Fellows in the Acoustical Society of America in Fall 2023.

John L. Davy

(RMIT University, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia) for contributions to modeling of sound insulating wall boards and modal theories of rooms and structures

- Libertario Demi (University of Trento, Trento, Italy) for contributions to lung ultrasound
- Lixi Huang

(The University of Hong Kong, Pokfulam, Hong Kong) for contributions to biomedical noise control, aeroacoustics, and acoustics Amanda M. Lauer

(Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland) for multidisciplinary contributions to hearing and hearing impairment in wide-ranging animal models

- Benjamin E. Markham (Acentech, Cambridge, Massachusetts) for leadership and teaching in the field of architectural acoustics
- Thomas J. Royston

(University of Illinois at Chicago) for furthering understanding of anisotropy and acoustoelasticity in dynamic elastography

Erratum

Two errors were found in the article "Uncertainty in Acoustical Modeling;' by Sheri L. Martinelli, D. Keith Wilson, Andrew S. Wixom, and Chris L. Pettit, which appeared in the summer 2023 issue (volume 19, issue 2). The caption for figure 3 should read, "Frequency dependence of the Lloyd's mirror transmission loss (TL) interference pattern. a: Wavelength (l) = 2 m or 170 Hz; b: A = 1 m or 340 Hz; c: A = 0.5 m or 680 Hz. Darker regions indicate destructive interference (high TL), whereas lighter regions indicate constructive interference (low TL):' Additionally, the sentence starting on line 10 of page 31 should read, "These values correspond to wavelengths of 2 m, 1 m, and 0.5 m, respectively:'