

Officers

Terri Tyler, Chair

Wetzel County Term 2023 to 2025

Rebecca Friend, Vice Chair

Ohio County Term 2022-2024

Jennifer Randolph, Secretary

Roane County Term 2023 to 2025

Terri Tyler, Acting Treasurer

Wetzel County Term 2022-2024

Board of Directors

Rick Buckley

Jackson County Term 2022-2024

Roger Frame

Marshall County Term 2022-2024

Mike Grunau

Harrison County Term 2023 to 2025

Nicole Hunter

Kanawha County Term 2023 to 2025

AWVSWA 2024 Scholarship

AWVSWA SCHOLARSHIP AWARD APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

I. Important Dates

- April 1: All completed application forms and documentation must be received by the AWVSWA Scholarship Chairperson. A teleconference call/interview may be scheduled with the applicant upon receipt of completed application.
- April 17: Committee recommendation forwarded to AWVSWA Board for review
- May 1: Announcement of Scholarship winner(s).

II. Scholarship Awards

A. Eligibility: AWVSWA pledges to uphold the policy that all persons shall have equal access to this program, regardless of race, color, age, gender, marital status, creed, religion, or disability.

- To be considered for an award, the candidate must be the (a) employee, (b) SWA volunteer with documented volunteer hours, (c) child, or (d) grandchild of an AWVSWA Member (hereon known as sponsor) in good standing at the time of their recommendation and the award selection. It is the responsibility of the sponsor to inform the local SWA board that they are sponsoring an applicant.
- Applicants must be (a) graduating high school seniors, (b) graduate equivalent certified candidates, or (c) currently enrolled in an institution of higher learning AND accepted for enrollment in a (a) junior college, (b) four-year college or university in an undergraduate program, or (c) an accredited trade school.
- Preference will be given to those studying environmental programs.

B. Awards

- When possible, consideration may be given to awarding the applicants in a method that represents the entire membership area.
- The amount of the scholarship could vary depending on (a) the number of qualified applicants and (b) the funds that have been approved for the year.
- If no applications are received, or a lack of qualified submissions, are received, the AWVSWA Scholarship Committee reserves the right to carry over the designated monies to the subsequent year's scholarship funds.

(Continued)



Officers

Terri Tyler, Chair Wetzel County Term 2023 to 2025

Rebecca Friend, Vice Chair Ohio County

Term 2022-2024

Jennifer Randolph, Secretary

Roane County Term 2023 to 2025

Terri Tyler, Acting Treasurer

Wetzel County

Term 2022-2024

Board of Directors

Rick Buckley

Jackson County

Term 2022-2024

Roger Frame

Marshall County

Term 2022-2024

Mike Grunau

Harrison County

Term 2023 to 2025

Nicole Hunter

Kanawha County Term 2023 to 2025

AWVSWA 2024 Scholarship

III. Completing the Application

- Each applicant will be required to submit the following by the April 1st deadline to the AWVSWA Scholarship Chairperson:
 - Completed application form
 - A letter from the applicant discussing environmental issues/solutions
 - A letter of recommendation from a school official on school letterhead
 - Acceptance letter/certificate to an accredited institution of higher learning*
- Completed applications must be received by April 1, 2024 and can be either emailed or mailed via USPS
 - Emailed: AWVSWA Scholarship Committee Chairperson, Rebecca Friend, at ocswa.wv@gmail.com
 - Mailed USPS: Ohio County Solid Waste Authority c/o Rebecca Friend
 176 Satterfield Drive Triadelphia, WV 26059
- Incomplete applications and/or late submittals will be disqualified.
- If USPS mailing, applicants have the responsibility of verifying the application has been received by the AWVSWA Scholarship Committee.
- Applicants submitting via email will receive a receipt confirmation from the AWVSWA.
- Illegible applications or applications without proper signatures will not be accepted.

IV. Summary

With this document, AWVSWA has attempted to outline the application requirements for the AWVSWA Scholarship Awards Program. If any questions or problems should arise, please feel free to contact the scholarship chairperson as listed below.

AWVSWA Scholarship Chairperson Rebecca Friend

Phone: 304.639.6792

Email: ocswa.wv@gmail.com

Address: Ohio County Solid Waste Authority

176 Satterfield Drive

Triadelphia, WV 26059

*Applicants can apply without this, but award will be held until proof of higher education acceptance is received.