

MEETING MINUTES

ROSELAND MEDICAL DISTRICT COMMISSION

Date: July 24. 2023

Time: 8:06 am

Meeting called to order by: Acting President- Ex Officio Commissioner Sharron Mathews

IN ATTENDANCE

Commissioners

Ciere Boatright, Joseph Harrington, Tiffany Hightower (Virtual), Darrell Hill (Virtual), Dennis O'Malley, Tina Sanders, Harry Wilkins

Pending Commissioner

Timothy Egan

Ex Officio Commissioners

Sharron Matthews (Virtual)

Dr. Janice Phillips (Virtual)

Far South CDC Staff

Acting Commission Director, Abraham Lacy, Patricia Ballay, William Bouman

Members of the Public

Janelle Alexander- Resident and Member of Christ Temple Cathedral

Tyrone Muhammad- Executive Director Ex-cons for Community and Social Change

I. MOTION TO APPOINT ACTING PRESIDENT FOR MEETING

Commissioner Wilkins Motioned to appoint Ex Officio Sharon Matthews to preside as acting president for today's Commission meeting. Motion was amended by Commissioner Harrington to allow Ex Officio Matthews to participate and vote virtually. Amended motion seconded by Commissioner Hill and was unanimously approved by the commission.

II. CALL TO ORDER

Meeting was called to order by acting President, Ex Officio Commissioner Matthews at 8:06 am on Monday July 24, 2023.

III. ROLL CALL

Roll Call was completed by Commission Secretary Timothy Egan. In accordance with the Roseland Community Medical District Act 70 ILCS 935/10e, a quorum is established, and the Commission may legally transact business with the minimum seven (7) Commissioners.

IV. VIRTUAL ATTENDANCE

Commissioner Harrington motioned to allow virtually attending Commissioners and Ex Officios to Participate and Vote. (Commissioners Hightower and Hill, ExOfficios Matthews and Phillips) Motion Seconded by Commissioner Boatright. Unanimously approved by the commission as permitted in the RCMD's Bylaws Section 8.5.

V. APPROVAL OF PRIOR MEETING MINUTES

Motion to accept the Meeting minutes, as circulated, from June 12, 2023, by Commissioner Wilkins was seconded by Commissioner Harrington. Unanimously approved by the commission.

VI. NOMINATION OF OFFICERS

Candidates who seek the Office of President are Commissioner Joseph Harrington and Commissioner Tiffany Hightower. No other nominations were put forward from the floor. Secretary Egan commenced roll call voting for office of President.

For the candidate Commissioner Joseph Harrington four votes were cast. Commissioners Darrell Hill and Dennis O'Malley. Ex Officios Sharron Matthews and Dr. Janice Phillips.

For the candidate Commissioner Tiffany Hightower three votes were cast. Commissioners Ciere Boatright, Tina Sanders, and Dr. Harry Wilkins.

For the office of President, in a vote of 4-3, Commissioner Harrington is appointed the Commission President. Motion by Commissioner Wilkins to accept the vote, seconded by Commissioner Boatright. Passed unanimously by commission.

Motion presented by Commissioner Harrington that the non-elected presidential candidate, Commissioner Hightower, will take office as Vice President. Motion seconded by Commissioner Boatright and passed unanimously by commission.

VII. COMMISSION VACANCIES

Currently, the Office of the Board President of Cook County is slated to appoint Tim Egan in August of 2023. We are awaiting one appointee from the mayor's office and one appointee from DCEO. President and Vice President will work together to ensure these vacancies and any other positions as required by the bylaws be filled in a timely manner. Note* President Harrington states they will come to August meeting with a plan of action.

VIII. OFFICE OF INSPECTOR GENERAL AUDIT UPDATE

Participants – Required Commission President Harrington. Additional Officer, Commission Treasurer O'Malley. Fraud review meeting requested by Auditor with Ex Commissioner William Towns.

Abraham Lacy to send Commission the prior Fiscal Bi-Annual Audit for review.

IX. COMMISSION COMPLIANCE REQUIREMENTS

Names and Signature cards for Commission Bank account need to be updated.

The Oath of Office needs to be signed by all Commissioners as soon as possible.

All Commissions must complete the Statement of Economic Interest as soon as possible.

Abraham Lacy to verify documents required by Ex Officios.

X. PUBLIC TESTIMONY

Janelle Alexander, resident of Roseland and affiliate of Christ Temple Cathedral, states that as part of the community they are eager to be part of the development of the Roseland Medical district and either Ms. Alexander or Elder Winn will attend as many meetings as feasible.

Tyrone Muhammad, Executive Director of Ex-cons for Community and Social Change, states the community is disappointed with the Roseland Community Hospital and stands that CEO Timothy Egan be removed. The community will continue to demand this of the hospital board. He sees a problem with the community not showing up to open meetings and will voice these concerns to the public to engage participation. The Medical District cannot function if the Hospital cannot function. The community needs to be heard and the Hospital needs to act on the concerns of the public.

XI. ADJOURNMENT

The motion to adjourn was presented by Commissioner Hill and seconded by Commissioner Harrington. The meeting was adjourned at 8:48am on July 24, 2023.