AWGA CHRISTMAS LUNCHEON DECEMBER 12, 2023

Meeting was called to order by Diane Johnson at 11:25 p.m.

Lynda Duvall gave the invocation.

Diane Johnson introduced our special guests:

Mike Berneberg, Head Pro at Lake Arlington GC Greg Durante, Director of Golf, Arlington Parks Department

AWGA Social Members Laverne McGee, Glo Harrison, and Janet Wickstrom

New Members Cindy Schroeder, Connie Schott

Lunch was served.

After lunch, a Christmas stocking benefitting Safe Haven was passed around by Ulla Moore. The group contributed \$520 for this worthy cause.

2023 Winners

Games Chairman, Jane Wilson, announced annual winners.

Most Attendance Points: Jane Wilson, Ulla Moore, Trudy Sanders, Jodie Anderson Third Flight Winners: (1) Faye Townsend, (2) Rozanne Veeser, (3) Vicky Russell Second Flight Winners: (1) Trudy Sanders, (2) Jane Wilson, (3) Marla Wirt First Flight Winners: (1) Jodie Anderson, (2) Sharon Wieland, (3) Karen Lilli Championship Flight Winners: (1) Angelita Garcia, (2) Lynda Duvall, (3) Kathy Berg

Aces of the Month I*(listed on the website)
Ace of Aces – Lynda Duvall

AWGA Championship Tournament

2022 Low Net Over the Field – Sharon Pope 2022 AWGA Champion – Angelita Garcia

Handicap Chairman, Norma Gupton, presented the Most Improved Award – Shirley Addison

Winner of Guessing Games

Luann Stogner announced the winners

Guess the Tees - Donna Doss

Guess the number of golf balls – Sharon Pope

Drawing for disbursement of HIO money by Lynda Duvall

Drawing for Door Prizes - Donna Doss

Announcements:

The starting schedule for 2024 Play will be Monday, January 8 at Lake Arlington, An email will be sent reminding everyone.

The AWGA Board was pleased to announce that Glo Harrison, Laverne McGee and Janet Wickstrom have been declared honorary AWGA members with dues defrayed in perpetuity.

Nomination for Handicap Chairman and vote – Diane Johnson

Norma Gupton is retiring from the Handicap Chairman position. The nominating committee proposes Sharon Pope to replace Norma as Handicap Chairman for 2024. Nominations from the floor were requested. None were offered. The group voted to approve the board's recommendation.

Introduction and Installation of AWGA Board for 2024

Diane Johnson

Tournaments/Social – Donna Doss
Handicaps – Sharon Pope
Communications/Website – Lynda Duvall
Pairings – Karen Lilli
Games – Jane Wilson
Treasurer – Vicky Russell
Secretary – Tammy Boock-Holst (not present)
Vice President – Pam Bean
President – Diane Johnson

Sharon Pope announced that players must post their scores in GHIN by Wednesday or will receive a notification. If anyone has a problem with posting scores, she would be available to help.

Meeting was adjourned at 1:45 p.m.