

TOWN OF HOLDEN BEACH BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS RECONVENED MEETING FRIDAY, JUNE 7, 2024 – 3:00 P.M.

The Board of Commissioners of the Town of Holden Beach, North Carolina reconvened their Special Meeting of June 3, 2024 on Friday, June 7, 2024 at 3:00 p.m. Present were Mayor Pro Tem Tom Myers and Commissioners Tracey Thomas and Rick Paarfus; Town Manager David W. Hewett; Town Clerk Heather Finnell; Assistant Town Manager Christy Ferguson; Police Chief Jeremy Dixon; Inspections Director Tim Evans; and Public Works Director Chris Clemmons; Mayor J. Alan Holden and Commissioners Rick Smith and Page Dyer were unable to attend the meeting.

Mayor Pro Tem Myers called the meeting to order.

Town Clerk Finnell read a statement from Commissioner Dyer in support of adding the detective position (hereby incorporated into the minutes).

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Martie Arrowood spoke in support of the detective position.

BUDGET WORKSHOP

Commissioner Thomas made a proposal to give 1 cent on the tax rate back to the people. The Board came to a consensus on the proposal.

Commissioner Paarfus would like to look at compensation for the next round. He would like to see what the budget looks like with keeping the proposed 3.2% COLA and a 1.8% merit. After discussion, the Board came to a consensus to move forward with Commissioner Paarfus' recommendation. Town Clerk Finnell will provide the Board with information on the amounts of COLA/merit increases in the past.

Mayor Pro Tem Myers would like to take the \$200,000 for the stormwater under Block Q out for the next iteration. Commissioner Paarfus suggested leaving \$50,000 in. The Board came to a consensus to leave \$50,000 for stormwater in, changing the Block Q Projects line to \$610,000.

The Board agreed to defer the decision on adding the detective position to the next meeting. They asked Chief Dixon to see if he could come up with some alternatives to a full-time position.

RECESS

Motion by Commissioner Thomas at 3:41 p.m. to recess the meeting to 3:00 p.m. on Wednesday (June 12, 2024); second by Commissioner Paarfus; approved by unanimous vote.

J. Alan Holden, Mayor

ATTEST:

Heather Finnell, Town Clerk