

Women's Suffrage in the U.S. by State

Compiled by the Center for American Women and Politics – August 2014

Contrary to popular opinion, the 19th Amendment did not give women the right to vote it guaranteed women the right to vote.

By the time the 19th Amendment was ratified in 1920, women in many states and territories already had the right to vote.

The case of New Jersey: In 1797 New Jersey made history by recognizing the right of women to vote. The New Jersey Assembly passed the 1797 voting law, recognizing the right of women to vote across the state. New Jersey women voted in large numbers until 1807, when the Assembly passed a law limiting suffrage to free white males.

The following territories provided full voting rights to women before statehood:

- 1869 Territory of Wyoming
- 1870 Territory of Utah
- 1883 Territory of Washington
- 1887 Territory of Montana
- 1913 Territory of Alaska

The following states granted women the right to vote prior to the 19th Amendment:

- 1890 Wyoming
- 1893 Colorado
- 1896 Utah, Idaho
- 1910 Washington
- 1911 California
- 1912 Arizona, Kansas, Oregon
- 1914 Montana, Nevada
- 1917 New York
- 1918 Michigan, Oklahoma, South Dakota

In these states women could vote for President prior to the 19th Amendment:

- 1913 Illinois 1913
- 1917 Nebraska, Ohio, Indiana, North Dakota, Rhode Island
- 1919 Iowa, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Tennessee, Wisconsin

These states only allowed women's suffrage after passage of the 19th amendment:

Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia

