THE ECKAAA-CDDO SERVING COFFEY, OSAGE AND FRANKLIN COUNTIES Policies and Procedures SUBJECT: COUNCIL OF COMMUNITY MEMBERS EFFECTIVE: 5/1/2017 SECTION: 555A PAGE: 1 of 3 SUPERCEDES: 555 R1 Dated 2/6/2017

Policy:

Pursuant to K.A.R. 30-64-22 (Implementation responsibilities of CDDOs) and K.S.A. 39-1805 and 39-1811, the Council of Community Members will provide input and make recommendations to the East Central Kansas Area Agency on Aging Community Developmental Disability Organization (ECKAAA-CDDO) serving Coffey, Osage and Franklin Counties, and its affiliates, relating to the type of or implementation of services offered to individuals.

The Council of Community Members acts as the committee that provides oversight to the Quality Assurance Committee.

The Council of Community Members will also develop and oversee the dispute resolution procedures between the individual(s) served and/or their parent(s), guardian(s) and the ECKAAA-CDDO serving Coffey, Osage and Franklin Counties and/or its affiliates.

Per regulation K.A.R. 30-64-31, Council of Community Members, a council of community members shall consist of a selected number of individuals, the majority of whom shall be made up of representatives from each of the following two categories: (A) Persons with a developmental disability; and (B) family members or guardians of a person with a developmental disability; (2) include representatives from the following: (A) The CDDO; and (B) affiliates of the CDDO.

Procedure:

- 1) The Council of Community Members will be comprised of seven (7) voting individuals, a majority of whom shall be:
 - A) Persons with developmental disabilities (2)
 - B) Family members/guardians of persons with developmental disabilities (2)
 - C) Representatives of the ECKAAA-CDDO (1)
 - D) Representatives of Affiliates of the ECKAAA-CDDO serving Coffey, Osage and Franklin Counties (2)
- 2) The ECKAAA-CDDO's Board of Directors will make the initial appointment of Council members.
- 3) Unless amended by Council of Community Members by-laws, Council members can serve no more than two (2) consecutive three (3) year terms as members of the Council of Community Members. The various groups of representation will elect new members. The following procedure shall be followed:
 - A) When the present council members have served two and a half (2.5) years of their term a request for nominations from consumers, family members, and guardians from the three county areas will be mailed. The requests for nominations must be returned within two (2) weeks.
 - B) Consumers will be instructed to nominate consumers; family members and guardians will be instructed to nominate family members and guardians.
 - C) After the ECKAAA-CDDO serving Coffey, Osage and Franklin Counties has received the nomination forms, contact will be made with all persons nominated to verify their interest in participating on the Council of Community Members.
 - D) Election ballots will be developed for open positions up for election including current members and other nominated individuals and available to those expressing a desire to vote. Consumer

THE ECKAAA-CDDO SERVING COFFEY, OSAGE AND FRANKLIN COUNTIES Policies and Procedures SUBJECT: COUNCIL OF COMMUNITY MEMBERS EFFECTIVE: 5/1/2017 SECTION: 555A PAGE: 2 of 3 SUPERCEDES: 555 R1 Dated 2/6/2017

ballots may be mailed or presented in an election format to consumers; family/guardian ballots will be mailed to all family members and quardians expressing a desire to vote.

- E) All ballots must be returned within two (2) weeks.
- F) Consumers shall elect consumer representatives; family members/guardians shall elect family member/guardian representation; representatives will be placed on the Council in order of most votes received.
- G) In the event of a vacancy or resignation, the Council of Community Members will contact the candidate receiving the next highest votes from the previous election to complete the remaining term of the exiting member.
- H) Qualified nominees may fill vacant positions upon approval from the Council.
- I) Council Members will be expected to state in writing any potential conflict of interest during tenure on the Council.
- 4) Any member of the Council may be removed from the Council, with cause, by affirmative vote of a majority of the total number of the Council members.
- 5) Additional representatives may participate in the Council meetings, but will not have voting authority unless serving as a voted-in alternate in a Council member's absence.
- 6) To convene a meeting, a quorum must exist of at least four (4) of those Council members present and qualified to vote being individuals served, family members, or legal guardians and **can not** be an employee, paid consultant, or affiliate.
- 7) Council members will meet at least quarterly and at other such times as necessary to fulfill the Council's dispute resolution and capacity building responsibilities.
- 8) The principal office of the Council shall be in Ottawa, Kansas. Correspondence may be sent to the Council of Community Members in care of the ECKAAA-CDDO serving Coffey, Osage and Franklin Counties.
- 9) The Council of Community Members will:
 - A) Develop and implement procedures which provide representatives of the Council the means to express opinions; and make suggestions and recommendations to all affiliates concerning issues such as the types of services being offered and the manner in which the services are provided.
 - B) Develop and implement procedures for dispute resolution between individuals served and/or legal guardians/family members and affiliates, disputes between community service providers or any other component of the community service system.
 - C) Provide oversight of the development, implementation and progress reporting as to local capacity building topics and plans in accordance with guidelines provided by the division of the Kansas Department of Aging and Disability Services (KDADS), and in conjunction with the current KDHE-KDADS-CDDO contract.
 - D) Act as an oversight committee for the Quality Assurance Committee

THE ECKAAA-CDDO SERVING COFFEY, OSAGE AND FRANKLIN COUNTIES Policies and Procedures SUBJECT: COUNCIL OF COMMUNITY MEMBERS EFFECTIVE: 5/1/2017 SECTION: 555A PAGE: 3 of 3 SUPERCEDES: 555 R1 Dated 2/6/2017