August 16, 2022

Re: SUPPORT for the Veto Override of HB1454

Dear NH State Senators and Representatives:

The Dalton Conservation Commission is sending this letter seeking your support for HB1454 on September 15th "Veto Override Day" in Concord. As you know, HB1454 would update the setback requirements for the siting of new, future garbage landfills sited near bodies of water in New Hampshire.

As the appointed conservation commission for the Town of Dalton, the same municipality which serves as the inspiration for the bipartisan writing of and passage of HB1454 in both the House and Senate, it is our duty to ask you to vote in support of the override of the governor's veto of HB1454. Conservation commissions are established by the municipality they represent "for the proper utilization and protection of the natural resources and for the protection of watershed resources of said city or town", as per RSA 36-A. In other words, we are the local board specifically charged with protecting the natural resources of the municipality we serve. Thus, we are writing to you to request your help by supporting HB1454.

HB1454 will help us to protect the natural resources of our town and region, as the now-dormant GSL Landfill project, next to Forest Lake and the Ammonoosuc River, poses a significant threat to both of those

important bodies of water. It is a poorly-sited development project, not only for its close proximity to both bodies of water, but more importantly, because it is sited in the middle of an existing sand and gravel operation. All permit applications for this project that were submitted to NHDES have since been withdrawn by the applicant.

We urge you to vote in support of the override of the governor's veto of HB1454, to ensure that protections are in place WHEN New Hampshire is in need of a new, future landfill. HB1454 will serve to protect Dalton's natural resources today and some other town's in the future. We thank you for doing the right thing for our great state.

Respectfully,

Dalton Conservation Commission

Nancy Comeau, Chair Ernie Hannaford Tamela Swan Miriam Caldwell Ruth Duval