

Democratic Party of Puerto Rico / Partido Demócrata de Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico Democratic Party completes delegation for Biden's presidential nomination

Democratic State Convention to be held on June 8th

SAN JUAN-The Puerto Rico delegation for Joe Biden's presidential nomination at the Democratic National Convention in Chicago will be completed with all 65 members by June 8, as announced by the Chairman of the Democratic Party of Puerto Rico (DPPR), Charlie Rodriguez.

The local Democratic leader explained that the Puerto Rico Delegate Selection Plan, approved by the Democratic National Committee (DNC), allows for 36 district level delegates who were already elected in the presidential primary on April 28. The Plan also entitles Puerto Rico to an additional 29 delegates who will be selected at a State Convention.

The Convention is scheduled to be held at the Blue Lagoon Cafe & Ballroom, Baldorioty de Castro Expressway, across from the Condado Lagoon in San Juan. It will begin at 9:30 a.m. to choose the remaining 29 delegates. These delegates will include 12 at-large delegates, five alternate delegates, and seven delegates among party leaders or elected officials (PLEO). The delegation will also consist of five automatic delegates who are Chairman Charlie Rodríguez, Vice Chair Johanne Vélez, Committeewoman Rosemary Vizcarrondo, Committeeman Luis Dávila Pernas, and Governor Pedro Pierluisi.

The Puerto Rico Democratic State Convention consists of 87 delegates, including the 51 existing members of the DPPR Central Committee and the 36 district-level delegates selected in the recent Democratic Presidential Primary.

"The quorum requirement of 36 members present for the election at the June 8 convention guarantees the legitimacy and transparency of the process," Rodriguez said, inviting all Democratic leaders to attend the State Convention.

Biden's candidacy was met with overwhelming support in Puerto Rico, securing 89% of the votes. Although retiring candidates Dean Phillips and Marianne Williamson did receive some votes, their total share was a modest 6.23% and 4.47%, respectively. Since their figures did not reach or exceed the 15% needed to accredit delegates, as explained by Rodríguez, all 65 members of the Puerto Rico delegation are committed to Biden's presidential nomination.

Next August, the National Convention in the City of Chicago has another crucial function: to approve the Democratic Platform for the next four-year term.

"As for Puerto Rico, my commitment is clear. I prioritize the extension of Supplemental Security Income (SSI), equal treatment in Medicaid and Medicare, the extension of the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) to the island, and a federally sponsored status plebiscite binding for the federal government. Our aim is equality, and I steadfastly defend statehood," emphasized Rodriguez.

For Biden's nomination in Chicago, the 36 delegates who were chosen in the April primary by each district are:

For the San Juan district: former Housing Secretary Miguel B. Hernandez-Vivoni, Katherine Erazo, Rep. Eddie Charbonier, and Ivonne Lozada.

Bayamon district: Senator Carmelo Rios, Aida M. Marquez, former Senator Juan E. Hernandez Mayoral, and Rep. Debora Soto.

Arecibo district: former Corrections Secretary Erik Y. Rolon, Manati Municipal Legislature President Glorimar Falconi, Rep. Edgardo Feliciano, Sen. Elizabeth Rosa, and Angel Ramos.

Mayagüez district: former senator Lucy Arce, Jose Julian Roldan, former senator Evelyn Vazquez, union activist Braulio Torres, and former director of the Government Ethics Office, Zulma R. Rosario.

Ponce district: local AFSME union leader Jessica Martinez, Emmanuel Piñeiro, Senate Vice President Marially Gonzalez, Rep. Angel Fourquet, and Astrid Vazquez.

Guayama district: Orocovis Mayor Jesus E. Colon-Berlingeri, former Senator Margarita Nolasco, Villalba Mayor Luis Javier Hernandez, Evelyn Diaz, and former Senator Carlos Rodriguez Mateo.

Humacao district: Gurabo Mayor Rosachely Rivera, Caguas mayoral candidate Roberto Jesús Lopez, Glenda Villafañe, and House Vice President Jose "Conny" Varela.

Carolina district: Canovanas Mayor Lornna Soto, Rep. Angel Matos, Democratic Youth leader Aurelio Agelviz, and Daisy I. Cruz.