ISAG

INTERNATIONAL SOCIETY FOR ANIMAL GENETICS

ISAG Conference 2008, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Horse Genome Mapping Workshop

Chair: Imke Tammen, Reprogen, The University of Sydney, Camden, Australia

Around 80 people attended the workshop.

The program was as follows:

15.30 Leif Andersson and Claire Wade on behalf of the Equine Genome Sequencing Consortium, Preliminary analysis of the equine genome

15.55 Terje Raudsepp, Nandina Paria and Bhanu P. Chowdhary, Sequencing-ready physical map of the horse Y chromosome

16.15 Suzanne Eivers, Beatrice McGivney, David MacHugh, Cormac Taylor, Katie Mason, James MacLeod, Lisa Katz and Emmeline Hill, Exercise-induced gene expression in equine skeletal muscle.

16.30 Virgine Lampe, Claudia Dirks and Ottmar Distl, Insights into equine osteochondrosis based on genetic markers in Hanoverian warmblood horses

16.45 Sarah Blott, L.Y. Fox-Clipsham, E. Temperton, J.E. Swinburne and M. Vaudin, Single nucleotide polymorphism (SNP) density and predicted mapping resolution of complex trait genes in the Thoroughbred horse

17.00 Brief updates
Ottmar Distl - Equine BAC – physical map (Poster 1009)

- 17.10 General discussion and group updates
- 17.20 Election of chair and steering committee

Report on any business conducted:

The well attended workshop facilitated the presentation of invited talks and poster presentations as outlined in the program (Leif Andersson on behalf of Claire Wade: Preliminary analysis of the equine genome; Terje Raudsepp: Sequencing-ready physical map of the horse Y chromosome; Emmeline Hill: Exercise-induced gene expression in equine skeletal muscle; Virgine Lampe: Insights into equine osteochondrosis based on genetic markers in Hanoverian warmblood horses; Sarah Blott: Single nucleotide polymorphism (SNP) density and predicted mapping resolution of complex trait genes in the Thoroughbred horse; and Ottmar Distl: Brief update on the equine BAC physical map).

ISAG

INTERNATIONAL SOCIETY FOR ANIMAL GENETICS

ISAG Conference 2008, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Horse Genome Mapping Workshop

During the general discussion workshop members agreed that the current developments in relation to the sequencing of the equine genome had started a new era and that this should be reflected by a change in name of the workshop and committee.

The chair Imke Tammen proposed the new name of 'Horse Genomics'. This proposal was seconded by Alan Guthrie and consequently unanimously approved by all ISAG members present.

The general discussion was followed by the election of the standing committee:

Telhisa Hasegawa, Knut Røed, John Flynn and Imke Tammen had served on the committee for 4 years and stood for re-election. Ernie Bailey had served the committee for two 4 year terms and thus stood not for re-election. Alan Guthrie, joined the committee in 2006 and his position was thus continuing. A call for new committee members identified Rebecca Bellone (proposed by Ernie Bailey via email), June Swinburne (proposed by Alan Guthrie) and Ann Trezise (proposed by Leslie A. Lyons). The nominations were seconded by Paula Hawthorne. The committee members that stood for re-election and all newly proposed members were elected unanimously by the ISAG members present.

The committee requests that the motions in relation to the name change and the changes to the committee membership are ratified by the ISAG Executive Committee.

Telhisa Hasegawa was unanimously re-elected by the new committee as chair (via email after the conference; nominated by Imke Tammen, seconded by John Flynn).