

Horse Genetics and Genomics Workshop

Organised by a standing committee yes no

Date and meeting time: Monday, 16th of July, 2010; 2:00-5:30pm

Chair, name and contact email:

Bianca Haase on behalf of the standing Horse Genetics and Genomics committee

bianca.haase@sydney.edu.au

Number of participants at meeting: approximately 80

Summary of the meeting:

The program was as follows:

2:00pm	Bianca Haase	Welcome
2:10pm	James R Mickelson	Genomic signatures of selection in the horse
2:30pm	Christa Kühn	A genome wide association study for withers height in German Warmblood Horses
2:50pm	Brandon D Velie	Genetic selection for racing durability in Thoroughbreds
3:10pm	Anne Richard	First results on genomic selection in French show-jumping horses
3:30-4:00pm		Coffee Break
4:00pm	Clémence Desjardin	Molecular mechanisms involved in equine osteochondrosis
4:20pm	Krista Lynn Fritz	Whole genome association study of Type 2 Polysaccharide Storage Myopathy (PSSM) in Quarter Horses
4:40pm	LuAnn Glaser	Advances in Animal Genotyping Using the Affymetrix Axiom Platform
5:15pm	Election of new members for the standing committee "Horse Genetics and Genomics"	

The workshop was well attended.

On behalf of the local organization committee, Bianca Haase announced that the 10th Havemeyer International Equine Genome Mapping Workshop will be held from July 10th to 13th, 2013 in St. Miguel, Azores, Portugal.

Teruaki Tozaki gave a short summary on the success of the Horse Genomics Special Supplement Issue of the Journal of Animal Genetics that followed the 9th Havemeyer International Equine Genome Mapping Workshop.

General announcements were followed by the election of the members for the standing committee. Telhisa Hasegawa (Chair), Knut Røed, John Flynn and Imke Tammen had served on the committee for two 4-year terms and did not stand for re-election. Rebecca Bellone, June Swinburne and Ann Trezise had served the committee for a 4-years term and only Rebecca Bellone was willing to serve for a second 4-year term in case of re-election. Teruaki Tozaki has been elected in 2010 for a 4-year term and will remain on the committee for another 2 years.

The session chair Bianca Haase proposed to reduce the number of committee members to four as it would allow a more efficient workflow. This proposal was approved unambiguously by the workshop attendees.

A call for new committee members identified Matthew Binns (seconded by Claire Wade), Tosso Leeb (seconded by Jim Mickelson), Bianca Haase (seconded by Ernie Bailey) and Natasha Hamilton (seconded by Imke Tammen) as potential candidates in addition to Rebecca Bellone. Every workshop attendee was asked to vote for three candidates and write the names down. Notes were evaluated by Imke Tammen, Bianca Haase and Ernie Bailey. Workshop attendees elected Rebecca Bellone, Matthew Binns and Bianca Haase by majority vote.

The standing committee assigned Bianca Haase as Chair and Rebecca Bellone as Co-Chair.

Committee members and ending year of term:

Bianca Haase (2016) (Chair) Rebecca Bellone (2016) (Co-Chair)

Teruaki Tozaki (2014) Matthew Binns (2016)

Standing Committee on Equine Genetics and Genomics Committee Responsibilities, Officers, and Terms of Service

Approved by the Standing Committee: July 30th, 2012

I. Background

To make the operations of the standing committee transparent to all, this guideline will define the responsibilities of the committee as well as the terms of service. These guidelines can be amended by the members of the standing committee at any time by majority vote. In case the International Society of Animal Genetics (ISAG) implements general guidelines for all Standing Committees, these will replace the relevant sections of the committee guidelines.

II. Membership of the Committee

The primary responsibility of the Standing Committee is to organize and run the Equine Genetics and Genomics Workshop at the biennial conference of ISAG. This includes selection of speakers and scheduling the workshop agenda. It may also include providing advice and assistance to the ISAG organizing committee.

The committee will ideally provide broad range of expertise and career-stage diversity. In order to allow an efficient workflow the number of committee members should be limited to as few members as required to fulfill the Committee's duties. To ensure adequate continuity and to provide a continuing viability, committee members are elected for a four-year term of service with the opportunity for reappointment, with 2 members being elected at each ISAG meeting so that membership is staggered. Membership on the committee should be limited to two consecutive terms of service. Members must have at least a one term break before they are eligible to be reappointed.

Members of the committee will be nominated from the floor at the workshop. If more people are interested in serving, an election will be held at the workshop. Every workshop attendee is entitled to vote.

III. Chair of the Committee

The Chair of the Committee will be selected by the Standing Committee among its members. The Chair acts as a contact person with the Society, submits the workshop report to the ISAG Secretary, to coordinate the Committee's planning of the workshop and to moderate the workshop.

VI. Co-Chair of the Committee

The Co-Chair will be selected by the committee from among its members. The responsibility of the Co-Chair is to co-moderate the workshop and to serve as a secretary at the ISAG workshop and to assume the role of the Chair, if the Chair is unable to do so. After a two-year term the Co-Chair moves to the role of Chair.