

# **YASHK NEWSLETTER**

May 2019 Issue

# YASHK NAME CHANGE

The Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong has been renamed into **The Hong Kong Academy of Sciences**, with the acronym "ASHK" remaining unchanged. Contingent to the renaming of ASHK, the YASHK ExCom considered and ASHK Board adopted the new name of YASHK: **The Hong Kong Young Academy of Sciences**, while the Chinese name 香港青年科學院 (青 科院), the acronym "YASHK" and the Internet domain name https://yashk.org.hk would remain unchanged.



# FIRST EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (EXCOM) MEETING

The 1<sup>st</sup> meeting of YASHK ExCom was held on 4 January 2019.

#### **CO-OPTED EXCOM MEMBER**

Pursuant to the YASHK Constitution, the ASHK Board of Directors appointed Professor Henry WONG, ASHK Honorary Secretary to be Independent Committee Member of the YASHK ExCom on 3 January 2019 with immediate effect.

# **EXCOM SUBCOMMITTEES**

The YASHK ExCom set up the following sub-committees:

Academic Committee – Leo POON (Chair), Timothy BONEBRAKE, Johnny HO, Huabai LI, Kathy LUI, Anderson SHUM, Feng WANG, and Wang YAO

**Internal Affairs Committee** - Minhua SHAO (Chair), Benjamin COWLING, Zhiyong FAN, Xuhui HUANG, Raymond WONG, and Zijian ZHENG

**Outreach Committee** – Stephanie MA (Chair), Edwin CHAN, Johnny HO, Edmund LAM, Denvid LAU, Amos TAI, Kevin TSIA

**Knowledge Transfer Committee** – Raymond TONG (Chair), Ken LEUNG, Yi-Chun LU, Anderson SHUM, Kevin TSIA, Xuhui HUANG, and Zijian ZHENG

# **YASHK WEBSITE**

The website of YASHK (<u>https://yashk.org.hk</u>) was launched in March, with the English site published in the first instance, to be followed by the Chinese site in due course.

# **ELECTION OF NEW MEMBERS**

The Internal Affairs Committee formulated a set of guidelines for the election of new members and sought advice from the Chairman of ASHK Election Committee. The guidelines were endorsed by the YASHK ExCom. Members have been invited to make nominations.

YASHK website



Kickoff Ceremony of the "Distinguished Master Accomplished Students" Mentorship Programme

# Contact Us

#### Secretariat The Hong Kong Young Academy of Sciences

Unit 702, 7/F, Building 10W 10 Science Park West Avenue Hong Kong Science Park Shatin, Hong Kong Tel 3543 5915 Email ya@ashk.org.hk Web <u>https://yashk.org.hk</u>



# **Editorial Advisors**

**Vic LAW** President, YASHK

Amos TAI Honorary Secretary, YASHK

Henry WONG Honorary Secretary, ASHK

# **Executive Editor**

**Heronie MOK** CEO, YASHK Deputy Secretary General, ASHK

# **OTHER MAJOR ACTIVITIES**

Listed below are the activities that took place from January to April:

#### Jan – Apr 2019

4 YASHK members have been appointed chairpersons of Subject Assessment Panels of the ST Yau High School Science Award (Asia). 12 other YASHK members serve as panelists, altogether 16 YASHK members serve on the Assessment Panels.

YASHK President and the Outreach Committee members attended a meeting with Director of The Hong Kong Academy for Gifted Education (HKAGE) on potential collaborations. An MOU for collaboration will be signed at the YASHK Inauguration Ceremony in June.

YASHK ExCom members, CEO and Sub-Committee Chairs attended a lunch meeting with Director of Croucher Foundation on potential collaborations.

17 professors gathered by YASHK (mostly YASHK members) served as adjudicators for the 52<sup>nd</sup> Joint School Science Exhibition, which is the biggest student organised science event in Hong Kong.

YASHK President and the Outreach Committee members attended a meeting with HKAGE and The Education University of Hong Kong (EduHK) on a potential collaborative programme for STEM teachers.

YASHK President and 11 out of the 19 YASHK members serving as mentors attended the Kickoff Ceremony of the "Distinguished Master Accomplished Students" Mentorship Programme 2019.



# YASHK INAUGURATION CEREMONY

The YASHK Inauguration Ceremony cum Science and Technology Forum will be held in Charles K. Kao Auditorium of Hong Kong Science Park, Shatin, NT at 2:30 pm on 9 June 2019. We look forward to seeing you there!