St Helens (Ebbw Vale)

St Helens formed as a Junior Club in playing on Ebbw Vale Memorial Park playing on the Whitwood Ground which opened in 1892 and later became Stan McCrea Oval.

This ground was originally used for Rifle training by the Armed Forces and was home to the St Helens Rifle Club.

The suburb was originally called St Helens. Soccer matches were played on the ground from 1892

The Rifle club was instrumental with support from footballers to have trains stop at Ebbw Vale and this occurred years before the Ebbw Vale station was opened.

The WW1 statue now in Ebbw Vale Memorial Park was originally outside the station but was moved. It bears the names of a number of the Original St Helens players

The club formed in 1910 as a Junior Club and reformed after not fielding a team in 1911 as senior team in 1912 following players leaving Rosebells
In 1920 it dissolved with the majority of its players going to Dinmore Bushrats
It reformed as a junior club in 1922.



In 1925 it entered a team in the second division.

The club merged with Dinmore Wanderers in 1935 and again with Redbank Dinmore in 1966 to form St Helens United The club formed an alliance with Coalstars to form Ipswich United in 1979. Coalstars exited the arrangement and St Helens continued with the name reverting to St Helens in 1990 the nineties. The club merged with Coalstars to form Ipswich Knights in 1998

St Helens had thirty two Queensland representatives an eight Australian representatives selected whilst playing for the club. A total of eighty two Queensland representatives and twenty five Australian representatives in total also played for the club Gordon(Bunny) Nunn and Cliff Sander were inducted in to the Football Hall of Fame

St Helens are second on the list of total trophies won by any Senior club