GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

ADVISORY NEIGHBORHOOD COMMISSION 3A



Resolution supporting new No-Parking Restrictions at the intersection of Porter Street and Plattsburg Court NW in conjunction with installation of a crosswalk (NOI 24-164-TESD)

In support of a Traffic Safety Input (TSI) request, DDOT conducted a safety evaluation and identified recommendations to improve pedestrian safety at the refenced intersection.

Currently, the intersection of Porter Street NW at Plattsburg Court NW does not have a crosswalk, and DDOT determined that a new crosswalk along Porter Street NW at its intersection with Plattsburg Court will provide a safe connection for pedestrians crossing the intersection.

ANC 3A has received the formal Notification of Intent from DDOT in NOI 24-164-TESD, dated June 24, 2024, notifying the Commission of the proposed change. DDOT has requested comments by August 6, 2024.

The portion of Porter Street covered by the proposed change is located in ANC SMD 3A01.

DDOT has determined that this change is necessary and important in order to enhance pedestrian safety. It has also advised that a minimum parking clearance of 25 feet from the new crosswalk be created in accordance with the DCMR and DDOT's Design Manual. Parking clearance is required to improve pedestrian safety by increasing visibility of pedestrians at the crosswalk for approaching drivers.

Safety is the #1 priority for DDOT, and public safety including on streets and sidewalks is a top priority for the Advisory Neighborhood Commission as well.

Therefore, be it resolved that ANC 3A supports the DDOT proposal for new No-Parking Restrictions at the intersection of Porter Street and Plattsburg Court NW in conjunction with the installation of a new crosswalk identified in NOI 24-164-TESD.

This resolution was approved by the Commission by a vote of 3-0 at its duly noticed public meeting on July 16, 2024, at which a quorum was present. (Three of the Commissioners constitute a quorum.) By this vote, the Commission also designated the Chair or his designee(s) to represent ANC 3A on this matter.

11/1/2

Ann Lane Mladuroo Secretary

Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners (January 1, 2023-December 31, 2024)				www.anc3a.org
3A01	3A02	3A03	3A04	3A05
Thaddeus Bradley-Lewis	Judy Havemann	Vacant	Jeremy Del Moral	Ann Lane Mladinov