GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

ADVISORY NEIGHBORHOOD COMMISSION 3A



Resolution supporting change in speed limit from 30 mph to 25 mph on Massachusetts Avenue NW between Westmoreland Circle and 34th Street NW (NOI 24-179-TESD)

As part of its "Vision Zero" program to improve traffic safety, the DC Department of Transportation (DDOT) has proposed to lower the speed limit from 30 mph to 25 mph on Massachusetts Avenue between Westmoreland Circle (at Western Avenue NW, on the DC-Maryland border) and 34th Street NW.

ANC 3A has received the Notification of Intent from DDOT NOI 24-179-TESD, dated July 17, 2024, notifying the Commission of the proposed change. DDOT has requested comments by August 29, 2024.

The portion of Massachusetts Avenue covered by the proposed change includes all the blocks of Massachusetts Avenue that pass through ANC 3A, from Ward Circle (Nebraska Avenue) to the intersection with Wisconsin Avenue, as well as blocks in ANC 3C, ANC 3D, and ANC 3E.

DDOT has determined that this change is necessary and important in order to carry out the objectives of "Vision Zero" and meet transportation safety standards, based on federal guidelines and an analysis of traffic volumes, traffic speed data, crash history, the nature of the roadway and its overall context.

Safety is the #1 priority for DDOT, and public safety including on streets and sidewalks is a top priority for the Advisory Neighborhood Commission as well.

Therefore be it resolved that ANC 3A supports the DDOT proposal to change the speed limit from 30 mph to 25 mph on Massachusetts Avenue NW, as shown in NOI 24-179-TESD, including the blocks in and adjoining ANC 3A.

This resolution was approved by the Commission by a vote of <u>3 - 0</u> at its duly noticed Special Public Meeting on July 31, 2024, at which a quorum was present. (Two of the Commissioners constitute a quorum.) By this vote, the Commission also designated the Chair or his designee(s) to represent ANC 3A on this matter.

Chair

Uns Care Mladinou Secretary

Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners for ANC 3A (January 1, 2023-December 31, 2024)

3A01

3A02

3A03 Vacant 3A04

3A05