# ORGANIZATIONAL & REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

# GOGEBIC COUNTY ROAD COMMISSION

MONDAY, JANUARY 10, 2022, 4:04PM | *Meeting called to order by* Patti Hagstrom This meeting was held at the Gogebic County Road Commission office

### In Attendance

Roy D'Antonio John Matonich Dennis Skinner-VIA WEB John Zorich James Estola

Barry Bolich Phil Strong Patti Hagstrom 12 Public Attendees

## Pledge of Allegiance

### Approval of Agenda

Motion to approve the agenda was made by D'Antonio, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Zorich; all in favor, none opposed.

### Nominations for Board Seats

With this being the organizational meeting for calendar year 2022, Secretary Hagstrom opened the floor for nominations for Chair. Motion by Matonich, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Estola that Roy D'Antonio be nominated Chair. 1 additional call for nominations for Chair was made. Matonich moved, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Zorich to close the nominations for Chair and requested a unanimous roll call vote: Ayes ~ Zorich, Matonich, Estola & D'Antonio, Nays ~ none. Roy D'Antonio was thereupon elected to serve as Chair for calendar year 2022.

Secretary Hagstrom opened the floor for nominations for Vice-Chair. Motion by Zorich that John Matonich be nominated Vice-Chair. Mr. Matonich openly declined. Motion by Matonich, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Zorich that Dennis Skinner be nominated Vice-Chair. 1 additional call for nominations for Vice-Chair was made. Matonich moved, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Zorich to close the nominations for Chair and requested a unanimous roll call vote: Ayes ~ Zorich, Matonich, Estola & D'Antonio, Nays ~ none. Dennis Skinner was thereupon elected to serve as Vice-Chair for calendar year 2022.

Secretary Hagstrom opened the floor for nominations for Secretary to the Board. Motion by Matonich, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Zorich that Patti Hagstrom be nominated Secretary to the Board. 1 additional call for nominations for Secretary was made. Matonich moved, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Estola to close the nominations for Secretary and requested a unanimous roll call vote: Ayes ~ Estola, Matonich, Zorich & D'Antonio, Nays ~ none. Patti Hagstrom was thereupon elected to serve as Secretary to the Board for calendar year 2022.

Motion was made by D'Antonio, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Zorich; roll call: Ayes ~ Zorich, D'Antonio, Matonich & Estola, Nays ~ none; to the following:

- Adopt Roberts Rules of Order
- Agenda Items must be requested by the end of the business day on the Thursday before the scheduled meeting. This excludes emergency situations.
- Allow the Chair to make motions for new business.

- The Chair will be the last voting member upon roll call votes from the Board.
- Incredible Bank as the financial institution as set through the Gogebic County Board of Commissioners.
- Approve the 2022 schedule for the Finance & Regular meetings.

**SECRETARY** 

The meeting was then turned over to Chair D'Antonio who welcomed James Estola, newly appointed Commissioner

Continussioner.
Approval of Meeting Minutes
<ul> <li>Motion to approve the minutes was made by Matonich, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Zorich; all in favor, none opposed.</li> <li>Finance Meeting of Monday, December 27, 2021</li> <li>Regular Meeting of Monday, December 27, 2021</li> </ul>
Public Comment
None
Manager Report
This report was presented, discussed and will be made part of the recorded minutes. No action was taken.
Engineer Report
This report was presented, discussed and will be made part of the recorded minutes. No action was taken.
Old Business
None
New Business
a) Letter of Appreciation Dan Peterson (outgoing Commissioner) ~ The letter was passed for signatures.
Public Comment
Derrick Jeske, Union President, presented a list of concerns from the union workers to the Board. Discussion took place.
Adjourn
Motion to adjourn was made at 4:40PM by Matonich, 2 <sup>nd</sup> by Zorich; all in favor, none opposed.  BOARD OF COUNTY ROAD COMMISSIONERS

**CHAIR**