Michigan's Third Congressional District Democratic Committee Convention

May 11, 2024

A. Call to Order

The Convention was called to Order at 11:00 am by Gary Stark, Third Congressional Chairperson. Attendees stood to Pledge Allegiance and the Land Acknowledgement was read by Gary Stark.

B. Appointment of Convention Officers

Convention Officers' names and appointments were read: Gary Stark-Permanent Chair of Convention; Linda Riepma-Permanent Secretary; Sarah Woolsey and Chris Herweyer-Credentials Committee; Joel Ombry and Sarah Woolsey-Rules Committee; Alex Toren and Herb Seamons-Talliers; Jason Colella-Parliamentarian. It was moved and seconded to accept the appointment of convention officers. No discussion. Motion passed unanimously by voice vote.

C. Credential Report

46 individuals were credentialed, providing a quorum; all 46 for Joe Biden. There were 26 from Kent County, 13 from Muskegon County, and 7 from Ottawa County. It was moved and seconded to accept the Credential Report. No discussion. Motion passed unanimously by voice vote.

D. Rules Report

Rules were distributed in print to all individuals and then read by the Convention Chair. It was moved and seconded to accept the Rules Report. No discussion. Motion passed unanimously by voice vote.

E. Recess to Presidential Caucus for the Purpose of Selecting Democratic National Committee Delegates The Convention was called to order for Joe Biden by the Temporary Caucus Chair at 11:15. The Chair recognized Blake Mazurek, who nominated Gary Stark as Permanent Caucus Chair; the motion was seconded. No discussion. Motion passed unanimously by voice vote. The Chair read the names of all delegate nominees. From 11:17 to 11:27, candidates for the National Convention formed their slates, slates were announced and projected for the audience, and then counties caucuses. The Chair reviewed the rules for slate voting. The election of delegates began at 11:47 am. Members voted the slates by county, the votes were tallied and reported to MDP, where votes were weighted. During the wait for results from MDP, several candidates in the 3d CD introduced themselves and discussed their races. Election results were announced at approx. 12:35. Male delegates: Blaze Mazurek, Willie German Jr., and Wesley Wilson. Female delegates: Wendy Winston, Joshua Ferguson, and Donna Secor Pennington.

F. Convention Reconvenes

The Convention reconvened at 12:38. The Chair announced the elected delegates again, thanked those who had helped with the Convention, and reminded the audience of the post-convention Fundraiser at Coopersville Brewing Co., 1:00 to 3:00; special guest will be Rep. Hillary Scholten

G. Adjournment

It was moved and seconded to adjourn the convention. No discussion. Motion passed unanimously by voice vote. Convention adjourned at 12:45pm.