MINUTES OF A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE TOWN OF THURSTON HELD JANUARY 31, 2024 AT 7:20 P.M. 7578 COUNTY ROUTE 333, THURSTON, NY

PRESENT: Town Supervisor: Michael Volino

Council Members: Holly Chase, Daniel Gee, Noel Sylvester, Jennifer Hargrave

Town Attorney: Rachel Treichler

VISITORS: Brad Dick, Sam D., Teresa Borhman, Carl and Lamara Hoad, Darrell Benjamin, Robert Cilino, Fritz

Anderson, Elaine Benjamin, Brett Dickson, LeeAnn Dickson

Michael Volino called the meeting to order. He noted that the purpose of the meeting was to act on Proposed Law # 1 of 2024 for the Town of Thurston which was to establish a Moratorium on establishing a Solid Waste Management Facility in the Town of Thurston.

Holly Chase said the Town Council is moving forward with legal counsel and with their assistance, continuing to research the effects of spreading sludge on local lands as well as obtaining more information on the effects of the construction of a composting facility for sewage sludge.

Noel Sylvester asked if this Local Law will allow us to deny these efforts and Michael Volino said once it's filed with the Secretary of State it will be effective.

Motion was made by Holly Chase and seconded by Noel Sylvester:

BE IT RESOLVED there is concern over the health effects of sludge spreading on local lands, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED there is concern over the health effects should a sewage sludge composting facility be built in the Town of Thurston,

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED that the Town Council of Thurston wishes to pass a LOCAL LAW (#1 of 2024) which will place a moratorium on the construction of any such facilities or any land spreading of solid waste in the Town of Thurston.

Put to roll call vote as follows: Holly Chase, aye; Daniel Gee, aye; Michael Volino, aye; Noel Sylester, aye; and Jennifer Hargrave, aye. Unanimously Carried.

This Local Law shall be filed with the Secretary of State.

Motion was made by Jennifer Hargrave and seconded by Daniel Gee that the meeting be closed at 7:30 p.m. Put to vote: Holly Chase, aye; Daniel Gee, aye; Michael Volino, aye; Noel Sylester, aye; and Jennifer Hargrave, aye. Carried.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Sue E. Conklin, Deputy Town Clerk